SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

In Space No One Can Hear You Clean, er, Scream. But if you post in this forum about Space Quest - someone's sure to hear you. I think. Try it, anyway!

SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby wheelbarrow74 » Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:39 pm

G'day,

Just whipped out my Space Quest Collection (2006) today to have another go at SQ6. I remember when I played it a few years ago it seemed to suffer quite a bit of lag, and frustrated me so much I gave up on it. Anyways, I've installed the latest patch recommended on this site (SQCollectionBDUpdate), and am very appreciative for its fixes.. yet when I went to play SQ6 again, it seems to play the same as before... (I've even cranked the in-game speed to max). What are some options for me? All the other SQ series play just fine with good speed etc.

I am running Win7 x64.
wheelbarrow74
Noob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:20 pm

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Collector » Sat Oct 09, 2010 11:11 pm

Try
Code: Select all
[cpu]
core= dynamic
cycles= max
in the dosbox.conf
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10873
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby wheelbarrow74 » Sat Oct 09, 2010 11:57 pm

Well I never, it worked!!! Thanks so much :-)
wheelbarrow74
Noob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:20 pm

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Hecatomb » Sun Oct 16, 2016 1:47 pm

I'm having the same issue with Space Quest 6 running very slowly. I have the 2006 collection, updated with the DOSBox patch, and the other five games ran fine. OS is Windows 7 64-bit. I tried the suggested fix, but it didn't work for me. Any other suggestions I could try?
Hecatomb
Noob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:34 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: Not Specified

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Collector » Sun Oct 16, 2016 1:56 pm

Did you change the conf file in the game's folder or the main dosbox.conf?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10873
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Hecatomb » Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:13 pm

The game's folder.
Hecatomb
Noob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:34 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: Not Specified

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Collector » Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:32 pm

Run the diagnostic and add the log as an attachment.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10873
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Hecatomb » Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:15 am

Here it is.
Attachments
diagnostic_log.txt
(8.43 KiB) Downloaded 61 times
Hecatomb
Noob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:34 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: Not Specified

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Collector » Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:35 pm

I am not seeing anything obvious. Your PC is more than enough to handle DOSBox and the cycles are what they need to be. It might be that you have some things running in the background that is eating up resources. I don't think that it will make any difference, but try changing the output under [sdl] to something else, such as opengl.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10873
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Hecatomb » Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:27 pm

I don't have any other programs running, and I'm only using about 15% of my available memory on other processes. I've tried all five output options, with no change. It's very puzzling.

Anything else I could try?
Hecatomb
Noob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:34 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: Not Specified

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Collector » Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:33 am

Are you using a stock DOSBox or some 3rd party build?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10873
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Hecatomb » Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:32 am

I have the original 2006 collection released on CD. The included version of DOSBox is .63, and was upgraded with the patch from this site.
Hecatomb
Noob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:34 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: Not Specified

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Collector » Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:36 pm

Then again the only thing that I can think of is that there is something else running on our PC that is causing the problem. Try pressing CTRL+F8 to increase frame skip.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10873
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Tawmis » Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:44 pm

Couldn't whatever Antivirus be slowing down the process unknowingly also? That's not always so obvious.

I'd say (remove the LAN cable, for the paranoid who think hackers might get in!), disable the anti virus, run SQ6 and see if there's any change?
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 9971
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: SQ6 (2006) lag issues?

Postby Hecatomb » Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:03 pm

I tried shutting off my antivirus program (AVG) and running the game, and I also tried CTRL+F8, and neither of those affected the game at all. I don't understand why the older games run at perfect speed, and the newest one doesn't.
Hecatomb
Noob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 10:34 pm
Location: Earth
Gender: Not Specified

Next

Return to The Space Quest Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron