Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

One of the many other Sierra games got you wondering something? Need hints? Got questions? Or just want to talk about them - post it here!

Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

Postby grambo » Tue Oct 28, 2014 2:25 pm

I'm using the new (32 bit) installer to install Lode Runner Online on a Lenovo W540, Win 7 Pro 64. Everything installs smoothly as advertised, but the only game controls that work are left, right, up and dig right. I cannot set the controls at all (single player or two player).

Any help or suggestions are appreciated, If this isn't the right forum to post this, please advise me.

Thanks,
Jake
User avatar
grambo
Noob
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Central Ohio
Location: Central Ohio
Gender: M

Re: Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

Postby Collector » Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:55 pm

It works on my Win7 Pro x64. Perhaps an issue with laptop. Run the diagnostic and attach it here .
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

Postby grambo » Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:33 am

The diagnostic output is attached. Thanks.

Jake
Attachments
diagnostic_log.txt
(2.63 KiB) Downloaded 136 times
User avatar
grambo
Noob
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Central Ohio
Location: Central Ohio
Gender: M

Re: Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

Postby Collector » Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:20 pm

I'm not seeing anything. Did you try to setting the control options?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

Postby grambo » Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:32 pm

Please, How do I set the control options and what do I set them to?

Jake
User avatar
grambo
Noob
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Central Ohio
Location: Central Ohio
Gender: M

Re: Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

Postby Collector » Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:44 pm

Click the check mark in the lower right of the main menu and set them to what suits you
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

Postby grambo » Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:59 pm

When I launch “Diagnostic Tool.exe” I do not get a setup page. It simply produces the output I attached earlier. Since I had a false start with a different installer before I found the SHP site, I decided to rip out of my machine everything “Sierra Lode Runner Online” related and re-install using only the “good stuff”. (Used the REVO uninstaller and got rid of the registry entries).

After re-installing the problem went away!! Joy. I can set the controls and they all work! It looks like I must have had a buggered install. So, I don’t know why I don’t have a setup page on the Diagnostic Tool, but since it ain’t broke …

Thanks for helping me along. I may have never thought about re-installing without the help.

Jake
User avatar
grambo
Noob
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Central Ohio
Location: Central Ohio
Gender: M

Re: Problem: No Controls, Lodereunner Online

Postby Collector » Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:52 pm

Glad you got it sorted.

FYI, I meant the main menu of the game. The diagnostic has no interface, it only generates a log file to allow me to see how everything installed with some minimal system information. It save a great deal of back and forth posting to get the same information.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland


Return to Other Sierra Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests