DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Travel back to the time of ancient Inca... and post your questions and comments about the game here!
Post Reply
User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1697
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by Rudy » Thu Apr 04, 2019 2:05 am

Hi guys. I'm trying to record Inca through the DOSBox recorder. As you probably know, I've recorded tons of videos through DOSBox without a problem, but this time, even though I hear the music and sounds in the game, it only records the video - not the sound. My DOSBox sound settings are as follows:

[mixer]
# nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
# Possible values: 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=20

[midi]
# mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
# Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
# Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
# See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=0

[sblaster]
# sbtype: Type of Soundblaster to emulate. gb is Gameblaster.
# Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, gb, none.
# sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
# irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
# dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
# Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
# oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
# Possible values: default, compat, fast.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
# Possible values: 44100, 49716, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=44100

[gus]
# gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
# gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
# gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
# gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
# there should be a MIDI directory that contains
# the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
# with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
# Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=true

Any idea why the sound doesn't record? Thanks :)
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11289
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by Collector » Thu Apr 04, 2019 10:36 am

I just tried both 0.74 and 0.74-2 Inca 1 and 2, both floppy and CD versions. All recorded with sound, no problem. Try the SHP installers.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Village Elder
Posts: 2538
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:46 am
Gender: Male
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by MusicallyInspired » Thu Apr 04, 2019 5:18 pm

You using Adlib music or MT-32? DOSBox won't record MT-32 music unless you're using an SVN build with MUNT built-in.
01010100 01110010 01110101 01110011 01110100 00100000 01010100 01001000 00110001

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11420
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by Tawmis » Thu Apr 04, 2019 5:29 pm

MusicallyInspired wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 5:18 pm
You using Adlib music or MT-32? DOSBox won't record MT-32 music unless you're using an SVN build with MUNT built-in.
It's true! I posted about it (MT-32) that awhile ago.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11289
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by Collector » Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:41 pm

But DOSBox's built-in capture will record a game's digital sounds, which even the Inca floppies have. The problem with a real MT-32 or a standalone Munt driver is that the MT-32 sound is generated outside of DOSBox with no way to be reimported.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1697
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by Rudy » Fri Apr 05, 2019 7:42 am

I'm not using MT-32 emulation with Munt (and don't have an authentic Roland), hence the midiconfig=0 in the setup file (I set it to midiconfig=1 to emulate Roland). However I need to make a correction to my first post. I only checked the beginning of the video file. After importing it into MovieMaker, I noticed some sounds halfway the clip. Those sounds were the sounds of the ship, so it DOES record sound effects, just not the music and voices.

That said, another issue cropped up. It appears the only way to restore a game (with the color codes) is to press CTRL-F9. However CTRL-F9 is also a default special key in DOSBox itself to shut DOSBox down. So, I can't restore a game, which makes recording the whole thing rather complicated. Unless there's another way of restoring a game in Inca, or the DOSBox CTRL-F9 short cut can be disabled or reassigned to another key, I may have to play it through SCUMMVM, recording it with an external video recorder.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1697
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by Rudy » Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:08 am

Tried the SHP Installer and the music did record. Also found out about the DOSBox key binder (CTRL-F1) and managed to disable the CTRL-F9 short cut, so now I can also restore games in Inca. Thanks :)

Would love to know the reason why it didn't record earlier though. Does it have to do with the ISO image of the CD being created?
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11289
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by Collector » Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:49 pm

ISOs cannot contain CD audio tracks, only data. You would need to image the disc to a BIN/CUE (BIN can contain both data and audio tracks) or rip the audio to OGG and mount it in DOSBox with a CUE sheet. The SHP installer does rip and compress the audio track to an OGG with a CUE sheet.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Village Elder
Posts: 2538
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:46 am
Gender: Male
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by MusicallyInspired » Fri Apr 05, 2019 8:39 pm

You should offer an option to rip as FLAC for lossless audio. OGG is smaller and more manageable though.
01010100 01110010 01110101 01110011 01110100 00100000 01010100 01001000 00110001

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11289
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: DOSBox doesn't record Inca sound

Post by Collector » Sat Apr 06, 2019 12:14 am

Official DOSBox does not support FLAC, otherwise I would in a heartbeat. The ECE build does support FLAC, I believe, but normally I only use official DOSBox in the SHP installers, but a user can always select whatever build they have. Only the SHP Munt installers use ECE.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Post Reply