Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Talk about games or general tech issues that are not Sierra related.
User avatar
audiodane
A Member Of Cap'n Tawmis' Scurvy Crew
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:14 am
Location: ..strange but true..
Gender: Confident

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by audiodane » Tue May 10, 2011 12:58 pm

I assume this has to be "installed" into Windows, rather than loaded real-time from a USB stick for portable game installations?

But thank you for this information, I look forward to trying it out!

thanks,
..dane

User avatar
Ryno
Where's My Leisure Suit?
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 12:15 am

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by Ryno » Wed May 11, 2011 2:18 pm

The games sound just awesome now! Almost as good as having a real MT-32.

User avatar
gumby
Oldbie
Posts: 935
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:55 pm
Gender: M
Location: The Great Underground Empire

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by gumby » Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:14 pm

Just configured QFG2 to run on my Windows 7 64 bit laptop. Sounds incredible!

User avatar
pppp
Sierra Fan
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:16 pm
Location: Portugal
Gender: Male

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by pppp » Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:16 pm

So let me just get something straight: Using Putzlowitschs Vista MIDIMapper will affect both DOSBox and ScummVM or do i have to change settings on both programs?

EDIT: Just tried it and the kq6 title fanfare still sounds worse then kq5. Or is it supposed to be like that?
Image

Thrice now i curse, and from the first, your family shall feel the worse

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11000
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by Collector » Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:06 pm

Putzlowitsch's will change Windows default MIDI device to what ever you select. You can set DOSBox to use any MIDI device in your system, regardless of what is set as default.

To use Munt or a real MT-32, you need to configure the game, too.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
gumby
Oldbie
Posts: 935
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:55 pm
Gender: M
Location: The Great Underground Empire

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by gumby » Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:28 am

Collector wrote:Putzlowitsch's will change Windows default MIDI device to what ever you select. You can set DOSBox to use any MIDI device in your system, regardless of what is set as default.

To use Munt or a real MT-32, you need to configure the game, too.
After getting Munt installed, those were my two sticking points as well. Setting the midi to use MT32 via Putzlowitsch's, and then changing the RESOURCE.CFG for the game to use MT32.DRV worked perfectly for me.

User avatar
pppp
Sierra Fan
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:16 pm
Location: Portugal
Gender: Male

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by pppp » Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:03 am

Well Putzlowistsch indicates that i'm using mt-32 synth emulator,i've also edited the kq6 resource.cfg file using notepad and changed soundrv= genmidi.drv to soundDrv = MT32.DRV. I've also changed scummvm's settings to "mt-32 synth emulator [midi windows]" where i saw it possible. Even after all that the kq6 title fanfare(you know the tune you hear before the opening/restore/play options appear) still sounds poor compared to kq5. Am i doing anything wrong? Or is it supposed to be like that?
Image

Thrice now i curse, and from the first, your family shall feel the worse

User avatar
pppp
Sierra Fan
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:16 pm
Location: Portugal
Gender: Male

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by pppp » Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:07 pm

Wow KQ5 sounds great with munt. It makes kq6's poor title fanfare sound like crap.Why does the DOS version of KQ6 sound better then Windows anyway?

EDIT: All kqs sound great except kq6 & 7,those i can't tell any difference (still haven't tried other games)
Image

Thrice now i curse, and from the first, your family shall feel the worse

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11000
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by Collector » Sun Sep 11, 2011 1:20 pm

The RESOURCE.CFG is only used by the DOS version. If you are playing the Windows version via ScummVM, you will need to make changes to the settings from the ScummVM GUI.

MT-32 support became more of an after thought with the later games. For these games GM is usually better.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Village Elder
Posts: 2193
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:46 am
Gender: Male
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by MusicallyInspired » Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:27 pm

Basically all most of the later games do is create a General MIDI-compatible patch list for the MT-32 so the sequence of instruments are all the same numbers as they would be in General MIDI. KQ6's score isn't too bad in the MT-32. I can't imagine why it wouldn't be working well for you. If you're going to play the Windows version of KQ6 in ScummVM then you have to check the box that says "True MT-32 Mode (Disable MT-32 Emulation)" and uncheck "Enable Roland GS Mode" if it isn't already so it will convert the General MIDI soundtrack into MT-32. The Windows version doesn't natively support the MT-32, only the DOS version.

Are you playing the CD version of KQ5 or the disk version? The CD version uses a mono lo-fi digital recording of an MT-32 playing the Sierra theme, KQ fanfare, and intro themes. Most of the rest of the game is outputted in MIDI except for the cutscenes which might explain why it sounds different.
01010100 01110010 01110101 01110011 01110100 00100000 01010100 01001000 00110001

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Village Elder
Posts: 2193
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:46 am
Gender: Male
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by MusicallyInspired » Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:36 am

Not sure exactly when this happened, but the latest MUNT (the good one) has finally been merged into ScummVM! You can experience it by downloading the latest daily build! It also seems that the reverb has been improved and sounds much more like the real MT-32. There still seem to be some glitches in the games I tested, though. In SQ3 some of the sounds of the pod door opening and closing in the beginning are missing or extremely quiet. Also, ScummVM still favours the digital sound effect resources over the MIDI ones so some sounds still sound like crap when they could sound spectacular (most if not all of the sound effects in SCI games are just mono lo-fi recordings of the MT-32 sound effect equivalents with very few exceptions). This was reported on the sourceforge feature/bug list as intentional until the ScummVM interface is designed in a way to specifically support the option and be less vague. According to the ScummVM team, in the past checking the "enable mixed adlib/midi mode" box would toggle this, but it never did. Anyway, the feature is removed (I don't think it was ever there) until they can figure out how to implement it into the UI.
01010100 01110010 01110101 01110011 01110100 00100000 01010100 01001000 00110001

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11000
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by Collector » Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:05 pm

MusicallyInspired wrote:There still seem to be some glitches in the games I tested, though. In SQ3 some of the sounds of the pod door opening and closing in the beginning are missing or extremely quiet.
Did you test to see if this is the case with the latest driver, too? If so, it is a Munt issue rather than with the integration into ScummVM. If it is Munt, you could report it in the Munt forum on VOGONS.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Village Elder
Posts: 2193
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:46 am
Gender: Male
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by MusicallyInspired » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:20 pm

I haven't tried it with the regular driver. I don't have the latest WDM driver.
01010100 01110010 01110101 01110011 01110100 00100000 01010100 01001000 00110001

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11000
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by Collector » Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:36 am

01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
DeadPoolX
DPX the Conqueror!
Posts: 3925
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:00 pm
Gender: XY
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Munt for MT-32 Sierra In-Game Music

Post by DeadPoolX » Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:49 am

:roll:
"Er, Tawni, not Tawmni, unless you are doing drag."
-- Collector (commenting on a slight spelling error made by Tawmis)

Post Reply