Les Manley: Search for the King (Recorded Audio)

Talk about games or general tech issues that are not Sierra related.

Les Manley: Search for the King (Recorded Audio)

Postby Tawmis » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:30 am

So I have LES MANLEY: SEARCH FOR THE KING set to play Roland, which it does fine in the game. However, if I capture video using DOSBox, the video comes through but no audio. So I dug around, and found the command:

mixer /listmidi

Which listed:
0 "Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth"
1 "MT-32 Synth Emulator"

That led me to this:
https://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Sound#Roland

Type mixer /listmidi to get a list of the midi devices attached to the machine. Locate the USB midi adapter in the list and note the number that it is associated with. Change dosbox.conf's midiconfig = id of MIDI device to the ID of the USB midi device (e.g. midiconfig=0) Once that is done, the MT-32 should operate.

So I went into my DOSBox config file and changed

midiconfig=1

Thinking that should do the magic trick. Same result. Records video, but not audio.

DOSBox shows (when it launches) -
MIDI: win32 selected MT-32 Synth Emulator
MT32: Using 10 chunks, chunk size: 480 frames, buffer size: 4800 frames.
MIDI: Opened device: win32

Anyone have any experience or ideas?

Code: Select all
[midi]
#     mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
#             Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
#             Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
#               See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=1


Changing the option to ADLIB for sound, allows it to record sound (in the video). So it's just the MT-32 that I am having an issue recording video sound.
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Les Manley: Search for the King (Recorded Audio)

Postby Collector » Wed Dec 07, 2016 1:49 pm

Try using a Munt enabled build of DOSBox.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10796
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: Les Manley: Search for the King (Recorded Audio)

Postby Tawmis » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:53 pm

Collector wrote:Try using a Munt enabled build of DOSBox.


Are you talking about a SVN build? If so - got a recommendation that you've used?

I'm fine playing it through a Soundblaster... It's fine. Was just curious why the MT-32 wasn't working.
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Les Manley: Search for the King (Recorded Audio)

Postby Collector » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:32 am

Just use one from one of the Munt installers - viewtopic.php?f=24&t=3925
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10796
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: Les Manley: Search for the King (Recorded Audio)

Postby Tawmis » Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:22 am

Collector wrote:Just use one from one of the Munt installers - viewtopic.php?f=24&t=3925


So any one of the Munt installer ones would work; even though they're designed for other games?
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Les Manley: Search for the King (Recorded Audio)

Postby Collector » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:33 pm

If you have used any of them just copy the included DOSBox and conf then modify the conf for Les Manley.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10796
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: Les Manley: Search for the King (Recorded Audio)

Postby Tawmis » Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:39 pm

Collector wrote:If you have used any of them just copy the included DOSBox and conf then modify the conf for Les Manley.


Cool. Yes. I've got the KQ Ultimate.
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified


Return to Non-Sierra Games & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron