Phantasmagoria 2 Question

Feeling like you're being haunted? Well, if you look in here, you may find (or at least post for some help!) the answers you're looking for - for the Phantasmagoria games!
Post Reply
User avatar
pppp
Sierra Fan
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:16 pm
Location: Portugal
Gender: Male

Phantasmagoria 2 Question

Post by pppp » Thu Jul 09, 2015 2:47 pm

So P2 with the installer on the site runs just peachy, but the videos lack the quality from playing it on Windows cause of heavy interlacing.

Is it possible to run the game on DOS without interlacing like Collector's P1 DVD installer does?

I know that I can use jafa's installer to run the Windows version, but it still requires CD swapping, which is kinda annoying.
Image

Thrice now i curse, and from the first, your family shall feel the worse

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Phantasmagoria 2 Question

Post by Collector » Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:48 pm

I already talked to jafa about this after GOG released their version. He said that he would look into what his installer broke with the standard resource mapping, but he disappeared from the scene shortly after. His deinterlacing uses DirectX, so it will only work with the Windows interpreter. I suspect that it s like GK2 and Phant1 where the interlacing is introduced via scripting. Endroz created a script patch for GK2 and Phant1 was switchable in the preferences. Unfortunately it is beyond me to make a patch for Phant2.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
pppp
Sierra Fan
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:16 pm
Location: Portugal
Gender: Male

Re: Phantasmagoria 2 Question

Post by pppp » Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:15 am

That's a shame. Well, thanks anyway.
Image

Thrice now i curse, and from the first, your family shall feel the worse

Post Reply