Removing the need for CDs...

Feeling like this game is just out of this world but can't seem to get a handle on things? Well come on here to post and get some help about Torin's Passage!
Post Reply
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Tawmis » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:49 pm

Originally Posted: Tue May 06, 2008 7:56 pm

... I don't suppose you know how to do that for games like, oh, Torrin's Passage? :D

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Collector » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:49 pm

Of course.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Tawmis » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:50 pm

And you're going to share that with us? :D Right?

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Collector » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:51 pm

If you insist... here: Torin's Passage for DOSBox installer.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Collector » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:51 pm

Have you tried it?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Tawmis » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:51 pm

Not yet! I have saved it. And since I dug out my GK1 the other day - I have to return to my closet bins and now dig out Torrin's Passage! :) But you can bet I will if I can play it without the damn cd!

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Tawmis » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:52 pm

Okay, I finally dug out my Torrin's Passage - ran the file (from this thread) - and it ran the install. But it doesn't work. All it does is create a short cut to DOSBox and another short cut to TORIN'S PASSAGE - both of which just open DOSBox. (And yes, had the CD in the CD Drive!)

However, I have two CDROM drives - and it was in E: not D: - does that make a difference?

Testing it now. And yup, looks like it's because it wasn't in D:... doing a lot more on the install now. Will let ya know when it's done! This makes me very happy!

I can not say in enough words how happy I am to be playing Torin's sans the CD...

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Collector » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:53 pm

I think this is the solution to these classics. Make it as painless for the players to get them up and running easily.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Tawmis » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:53 pm

Collector wrote:I think this is the solution to these classics. Make it as painless for the players to get them up and running easily.
I love Torin's Passage... so this is so great! :D

Are you going to be able to do this with the other games that are on single CD (I know you mentioned multiple CDs) - even if they're Windows based? (SQ6, KQ7, etc).

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Collector » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:54 pm

Almost all of the single CD SCI games.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Belkra
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:36 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Belkra » Sat Jun 09, 2012 4:01 pm

My wife brought an old CD of Torin's Passage with her into the marriage. I have tried and tried to get this game to work with DOSBox and even used the installer to no avail. Without a config file it will just open DOSBox and sit there. With a config file it will open and close DOSBox rapidly and I can't see what information is displayed before the window closes. My CD drive is Drive E: because Drive D: is another hard disk. I am also unable to just start up DOSBox and manually setup drives and startup Torin's Passage because "this program cannot be run in DOS." or some such nonsense. Any help?

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Collector » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:49 am

Run the diagnostic and attach the results here.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Belkra
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:36 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Belkra » Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:46 pm

Hopefully, this will help figure the problem out. She is really looking forward to being able to play this game again.
Attachments
diagnostic_log.txt
(3.34 KiB) Downloaded 249 times

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Collector » Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:42 pm

You are missing the game's main EXE, SIERRAH.EXE. It may be that your disc is dirty or scratched that is preventing the installer from copying the file. If the installer cannot copy a file, after a while it will skip the file and try the next one. Try manually copying the file from the CD to the game's installed folder.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Belkra
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:36 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Removing the need for CDs...

Post by Belkra » Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:10 pm

Well, I had to go out and get the disc resurfaced, but I was able to get it to work thanks to that helpful post. Thanks, Collector. The wife is very pleased with me.

Post Reply