Running Pharaoh/Cleopatra in Vista 64-bit

Games from the Sierra family City Building Series RTS master, famous for its historical strategy games.
Post Reply
User avatar
dotkel50
Village Elder
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:22 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Boston, MA, USA

Running Pharaoh/Cleopatra in Vista 64-bit

Post by dotkel50 » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:44 am

I recently got the urge to replay Pharaoh and its add-on Cleopatra on my Vista 64-bit machine. I'd heard that some people had problems with it and others didn't. Here's what I did. First I installed Pharaoh and then installed the patch. This worked fine with no tweaking. Then i installed the add-on, Cleopatra, along with it's patch. Now the problem occurred. I couldn't launch either game (it uses the same exe file).
Nothing happened when i clicked on it. So I went to the installed folder on my C drive, right clicked on the pharaoh.exe file, clicked properties, then clicked the compatibility tab. Check compatibility mode and chose Windows 2000 from the drop down menu. Then under settings check the boxes next to Disable visual themes, Disable desktop composition, and Disable display scaling. Finally check Run this program as administrator. Click ok.

This is what worked for me. Good luck.

User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Friesland
Contact:

Re: Running Pharaoh/Cleopatra in Vista 64-bit

Post by Qbix » Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:14 pm

Thanks!
I hope to play this game soon and it will probably be on windows 7 64 bit.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Running Pharaoh/Cleopatra in Vista 64-bit

Post by Collector » Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:39 pm

Thanks Dot! Here are links to the official patches.

Pharaoh 1.1 to 1.2 Update

Cleopatra: Official Pharaoh Expantion 2.1 Update
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Post Reply