Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Games from the Sierra family City Building Series RTS master, famous for its historical strategy games.
Nexus191
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:15 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by Nexus191 » Wed May 25, 2011 3:38 pm

To be honest i have no idea.... like i said, it loaded 3 hours after i tryed it so i cant remember xD

User avatar
esentia
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:05 am
Location: Polska
Gender: Female

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by esentia » Thu May 10, 2012 7:08 am

Hello,

I have a similar problem. I read the whole topic and tried to set my installer (Setup.exe) on the compatibility mode with Win 95, 98, 2000, XP. However, none of this worked. The problem is that if I click on "install" in autorun or on setup file from CD, it is loading for a while and then stops, like nothing has never happened.

What might be the cause of the problem?

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by Collector » Thu May 10, 2012 3:30 pm

What version of the game and what OS?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
esentia
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:05 am
Location: Polska
Gender: Female

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by esentia » Thu May 10, 2012 3:35 pm

Oh, my mistake not to mention it. OS is Windows 7 and the version of the game is, I guess, a normal one from usual edition, not any Sold Outs or something, Polish version. http://www.gry-online.pl/galeria/gry13/1058430453.jpg

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by Collector » Thu May 10, 2012 7:03 pm

The original installer works on my Win7 Pro x64. Of course, this is the US version. I have no way of telling what differences the Polish version has and since I don't have it, I can't experiment. Does the installer show in the task manager when you run it? You could try changing your theme to Windows classic to see if the installer works.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

NikNaks
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: Oakham
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by NikNaks » Sat May 12, 2012 12:10 pm

Hello!

I'm running 64-bit Windows 7 Pro, and I'm in the UK, so I have the "Sold-Out" CD. I am having a similar issue with the installer not appearing after trying to run it. I've attempted running Setup.exe directly from the CD as an admin, and in a variety of compatibility modes, as well as through the front-end installer. The Setup.exe runs, according to Task Manager, but seems stuck at 1,620K of memory usage. Having looked at the "Properties" of the process, it appears to be running from "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\InstallShield", not from the CD. I don't know if this is normal behaviour, but it seemed a bit strange to me!

Any advice would be much appreciated. I am going to leave the task running, so if it loads itself later on, I will mention it.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by Collector » Sat May 12, 2012 2:14 pm

I don't have that version, so I cannot experiment. If the usual tricks do not work, you can try to install it in XP Mode, since you have Pro.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

NikNaks
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: Oakham
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by NikNaks » Sat May 12, 2012 2:32 pm

When you say "XP mode", do you mean running it in compatibility mode for XP? I have tried this without success, as an administrator, and not.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by Collector » Sat May 12, 2012 6:59 pm

01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

NikNaks
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: Oakham
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by NikNaks » Sun May 13, 2012 5:12 am

Upon further inspection, it seems I'm running Home Premium. Blast.

Yesterday evening, about 4 hours after I'd clicked on the setup, the percentage bar suddenly appeared in the corner of my screen. However, it didn't go any further than that.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by Collector » Sun May 13, 2012 2:56 pm

There are other free VMs that you can try. QEMU, VirtualBox, VMware Player, Bochs, etc., but you still have to provide the older Windows to install in it. You also have to go through the trouble of installing the older Windows in it. Some of these VMs are easier to use than others. Some of them no longer support Win9x. You can find these through Google.

This is why I recommend that anyone getting Win7 to consider getting Pro. It is not that much more expensive and in my opinion, well worth it. You can run games and applications in XP Mode and have it behave nearly as a native app running in Win7. I have found a number of programs, games in particular, that refuse to install on my Win7 Pro x64, but the program itself runs without issue. XP Mode allows me to track an install to manually install it in Win7. If it runs in XP but not in Win7, I can just run it in XP Mode.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

NikNaks
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: Oakham
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by NikNaks » Tue May 15, 2012 3:21 pm

Thank-you so much for your help! I installed VirtualBox, got my old XP disk out and set everything up. I'm now installing Pharaoh! :D I had never even considered running a virtual machine, so thank-you again.

NikNaks
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: Oakham
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by NikNaks » Mon May 28, 2012 12:19 pm

Interestingly, I copied the game files across to the main part of my PC and ran it just fine. It seems the only problem is the installer. The game files seem to work perfectly well on Windows 7.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by Collector » Mon May 28, 2012 3:28 pm

I don't have a copy of the version that you have, otherwise I would consider doing an installer. These are the easy ones. Games that run OK on modern Windows, but the installers do not.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Rattus
Noob
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:15 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Pharaoh & Queen Of The Nile.

Post by Rattus » Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:24 pm

SOLUTION for Windows 7 64 Sold Out Gold edition: Change your colour settings to 16bit down from 32. Then run in Windows 98 under compatibility tab, use the SETUP exe. NOT SETUP.NOW or AUTORUN. This worked for me. The game installed and runs np at all.
Hope this helps

Rattus

Post Reply