GK3 installer issue

Voodoo got the best of you? Need a hint? Want to talk about Gabriel Knight? This is the place to do it!
User avatar
Tinuviel
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:41 pm
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

GK3 installer issue

Post by Tinuviel » Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:30 pm

Hi there, got a bug report for you regarding this installer.

Specifically, the GK3 installer from the help pages was giving me unrecognized fatal exception problems, despite the note on the Help Pages saying it was fixed with the installer. The game would get this error in one specific spot -- the movie between timeblocks where the tour group finds the dead bodies while on the tour. I cannot seem to find a way around this.

Do you have any idea on how I can get around this bug?

Thanks.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Collector » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:44 pm

Hi, Tin, long time no see. Did you try to start the game with "GK3.bat"?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tinuviel
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:41 pm
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Tinuviel » Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:27 am

Hi Collector.

Yeah, just tried it with the GK3.BAT file as you suggested. It still gives me the error in the same place.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Collector » Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:19 pm

It is still probably a conflict with a codec installed on your PC. What big codec packs do you have installed?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tinuviel
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:41 pm
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Tinuviel » Mon Mar 15, 2010 3:54 pm

Just whatever came with WinXP. I haven't added any.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Collector » Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:03 pm

Check if ambient.brn, core.brn, day1.brn, common.brn, day123.brn, day2.brn, day23.brn and day3.brn to be sure all files were copied over to the data folder.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tinuviel
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:41 pm
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Tinuviel » Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:30 am

Yep, all those files are there.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Collector » Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:10 pm

Try recopying all of the BRN files from CD2.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tinuviel
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:41 pm
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Tinuviel » Sat Mar 20, 2010 5:45 pm

That worked. Thanks Collector.

Don't know why it required me to recopy the files, but hey. Whatever.

User avatar
Tinuviel
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:41 pm
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Tinuviel » Sat Mar 20, 2010 9:23 pm

Well, it only worked until Day 3.

I got the error at the 7-10 a.m. block this time, Day 3. I copied the files like we did for Day 2, but this time, it doesn't fix the problem.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Collector » Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:54 am

And you tried to recopy day3.brn from disc 3?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tinuviel
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:41 pm
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Tinuviel » Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:22 pm

Yep, all of the .brn files.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Collector » Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:25 pm

Try uninstalling it and doing a clean reinstall. Don't forget to keep your save games.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tinuviel
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:41 pm
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Tinuviel » Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:30 pm

Did that, error persists.

Recopied the .brn files from Day 3, I still have this problem.

The only way I can get the story to progress is to ESC out of the movie all together.

I'm not sure why this thing really hates my computer, but it apparently doesn't want me to play.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GK3 installer issue

Post by Collector » Mon Mar 22, 2010 10:16 pm

Perhaps one of the AVI movies didn't copy over. Can you list all of the movies that you see in the Data folder?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Post Reply