GOG's GK 3 problems with Win 7 64bit

Voodoo got the best of you? Need a hint? Want to talk about Gabriel Knight? This is the place to do it!
Post Reply
joek0
Sierra Fan Wanna Be
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:54 am
Gender: Not Specified

GOG's GK 3 problems with Win 7 64bit

Post by joek0 » Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:27 pm

I was able to install GK3 from GOG. But when running the game, I am getting a long loading screen. But when I end the task for the game in the task manager to see if there was a system or game problem, this happens. Right before it ends the game, the music starts. I am having trouble loading the game.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11423
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GOG's GK 3 problems with Win 7 64bit

Post by Collector » Sat Oct 29, 2011 8:14 pm

It sounds like it may be this problem

http://www.sierrahelp.com/Games/Gabriel ... ml#WontRun

but the solution only applies to physical copies of the game. I would suggest you contact GOG.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

joek0
Sierra Fan Wanna Be
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:54 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GOG's GK 3 problems with Win 7 64bit

Post by joek0 » Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:30 am

The problem was that the sierra.avi file was not playing with the correct video codec. My system may have removed a compatible codec for the avi. Here was the solution from the forum.

All right, my idea worked!
It truly was just the SIERRA.AVI file that was causing the lock up and blank screen.
As I didn't want to install some converter-software, I went to the online converter at http://www.mediaconverter.org/ and uploaded my SIERRA.AVI (from the DATA subfolder) and converted it into an AVI.
Yeah, it sounds like the same but the site uses some other codec which actually makes the avi rather ugly looking - but only takes up about 10% of it's original size. And, really, it's just a 16 second clip of the sierra logo flying in.
Anyway it seems - so far - that SIERRA.AVI is the only file causing the lock up as I left all the other files untouched. Most of the other video files are BIK-files anyway.
Well, the game works now and I hope this will work for you as well.
Supplemental: It appears that there are a few very small AVI-clips that sue the same codec. They are just displaying some lines. If I remember correctly, these could be the ones displayed on the laptop when Grace analyzes "Le Serpent Rouge" later in the game. I'll recode these AVIs as well - if the game crashes later in the game when I start analyzing, I'll now that this is the cause.

After reading this, are all the video files avi and do they need the same codec to play.

Post Reply