GK1 Speed Issue

Voodoo got the best of you? Need a hint? Want to talk about Gabriel Knight? This is the place to do it!
Post Reply
joek0
Sierra Fan Wanna Be
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:54 am
Gender: Not Specified

GK1 Speed Issue

Post by joek0 » Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:53 pm

I have heard that GOG's GK1 runs well. The one main issue is that the cycle setting they choose is max. Do you guys know what the best settings for cycles is for GK1.

User avatar
dotkel50
Village Elder
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:22 pm
Gender: Female
Location: Boston, MA, USA

Re: GK1 Speed Issue

Post by dotkel50 » Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:55 pm

Try 10000.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11423
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: GK1 Speed Issue

Post by Collector » Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:05 pm

There are some timer bugs with the game. I don't know if they found the NRS patch or not. It is not generally available and the Endroz patches seem to have issues with the DOS version. For GK1 without the timer patches it needs to be set down. 10000 is always a good starting place for the SCI games. For a couple of games you may need to lower cycles down to around 7000 to 8000. Some of the SCI32 games can be set to max.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Post Reply