GK Games and Newer OS

Voodoo got the best of you? Need a hint? Want to talk about Gabriel Knight? This is the place to do it!

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby GVicTim » Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:58 pm

Same result with the .bat file, nothing changed =/
GVicTim
Noob
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 3:30 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Collector » Mon Jun 04, 2012 7:04 pm

It probably is a codec conflict. Try lowering the game resolution down to 640x480. If that does not work, the only thing that I can think of is to try uninstalling all of the codecs that you installed on your system, but that is a drastic measure. you could try to run it in a VM, like Virtual PC.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10376
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby GVicTim » Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:01 am

640x480 didn't work. I'll try the codecs/vm solutions later when I'll have more free time.

If I delete the codecs should I leave my pc completely "codecless" or i'll need to reinstall some basic ones at least?

I guess I'll try the virtual pc solution first and see what I get
GVicTim
Noob
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 3:30 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Collector » Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:30 pm

That is why I was suggesting a VM. If you are not otherwise having codec issues, a VM would avoid any screwups.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10376
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby egoadk » Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:06 pm

Has anyone gotten it to work in Windows 8 64-bit?
egoadk
Noob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:04 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Collector » Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:28 pm

Have you tried the installers?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10376
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby egoadk » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:30 pm

Collector wrote:Have you tried the installers?

I tried the GK2 Win version. It says SIERRAW.exe cannot start. Incompatibility with 64bit version. I tried all kinds of compatibility mode, no good.
egoadk
Noob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:04 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Collector » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:43 pm

You will have to run the DOS version in DOSBox. Use this. It will automate the whole process for you.

http://sierrahelp.com/Patches-Updates/N ... ers.html#G
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10376
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Gledster » Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:59 am

Collector wrote:You will have to run the DOS version in DOSBox. Use this. It will automate the whole process for you.

http://sierrahelp.com/Patches-Updates/N ... ers.html#G


Greetings Collector, I just wanted to mention that the Gabriel Knight files seem to have disappeared from the links on that page.

I have recently posted something similar in a different part of the forum so I apologise for the duplication but I just wanted to make sure someone was aware.

Chris
Gledster
Noob
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:48 am
Location: Northumberland, UK
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Collector » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:22 am

The links work for me.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10376
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Gledster » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:53 am

Interesting...This seems to be an issue specifically with my ISP and the Gabriel Knight files (whatever server they are on). All other files on that page are working fine but whenever I try to download the Gabriel Knight files, I get a Network Error. Hmmm...Further investigation needed I think.

Thank you for responding.

EDIT (17:09): DOH! Now I feel really stupid. It was AVAST anti-virus trying to protect me from myself. *sigh*. Have disabled and all is now fine.

Apologies for bothering people!
Gledster
Noob
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:48 am
Location: Northumberland, UK
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Collector » Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:38 pm

I was going to suggest that it may be your AV blocking it.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10376
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby el_pombo » Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:25 pm

I was having all kinds of issues trying to run Gabriel Knight 3 in Windows 10 x64!

The game was randomly hanging with a frozen screen and I was able to get it to work flawlessly using dgVoodoo 2 and made a patch specifically for GK3 (it doesn't actually alter any of the game files, it just installs dgVoodoo 2 in the GK3 directory and changes registry keys to turn off Incremental Rendering and Mip Maping. It also turns on Trilinear Filtering and auto-selects the dgVoodoo 2 graphics adapter in the game's options).

I have only tested this with my own system and the GOG distribution of the game, if anyone is having the same problems you can try the patch and tell me if it worked or not with your configuration.

http://www.filedropper.com/gk3patcher

List of registry keys changed:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Sierra On-Line\Gabriel Knight 3\Engine\Hardware]
"Rasterizer GUID"="{00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}"
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Sierra On-Line\Gabriel Knight 3\Engine]
"Rasterizer"="guid"
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Sierra On-Line\Gabriel Knight 3\Engine\Hardware]
"Trilinear Filtering"=dword:00000001
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Sierra On-Line\Gabriel Knight 3\Engine\Hardware]
"Mip Mapping"=dword:00000000
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Sierra On-Line\Gabriel Knight 3\Engine\Hardware]
"Incremental Rendering"=dword:00000000

List of files installed in the GK3 directory:

D3D8.dll
D3DImm.dll
DDraw.dll
dgVoodoo.conf
dgVoodooSetup.exe


All the best!
User avatar
el_pombo
Sierra Lover
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:31 am
Location: Sintra, Portugal
Location: Portugal
Gender: Male

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby Collector » Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:59 pm

Can't get to it. It keeps trying to get me to buy their premium access. I really detest those 'download services'. How about putting on your Google drive so there are no hoops to jump through.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10376
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK Games and Newer OS

Postby el_pombo » Sun Apr 03, 2016 9:52 pm

Collector wrote:Can't get to it. It keeps trying to get me to buy their premium access. I really detest those 'download services'. How about putting on your Google drive so there are no hoops to jump through.


Here goes a new link!

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_lQD ... VA0VE8tRlk

All sorted out!

Important note: this only works with DX11 enabled cards (almost all cards made since 2010)!

All the best!
User avatar
el_pombo
Sierra Lover
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:31 am
Location: Sintra, Portugal
Location: Portugal
Gender: Male

PreviousNext

Return to The Gabriel Knight Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests