GK3 on Windows 8 - Prompts to insert CD1 *FIXED*

Voodoo got the best of you? Need a hint? Want to talk about Gabriel Knight? This is the place to do it!

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Tawmis » Tue Jun 17, 2014 5:36 pm

I don't have Windows 8. I will post this thread to the Sierra related things on FB, to try and reach more.
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 8794
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Katran » Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:23 pm

Thanks!
User avatar
Katran
Noob
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 11:12 pm
Location: Arizona
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Spikey » Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:50 am

Do we have any results in just yet on the Windows 8 thing? Otherwise, I can maybe hijack a friend her laptop to try.
User avatar
Spikey
Sierra Obsessed
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:47 pm

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Collector » Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:44 am

Nobody responded to Tawm's request.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Spikey » Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:07 pm

Both the GOG version and using the installer from here worked to get GK3 running on my ASUS transformer book (T200T), win 8.1.

It may hang after pressing play, but if running it in Win7 compatibility and switching graphics to software renderer made it work just fine.

Only thing that I can't get to work that well are the video's. The Sierra logo video plays just fine, but the intro video is horribly choppy.
User avatar
Spikey
Sierra Obsessed
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:47 pm

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Collector » Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:58 pm

Is this with onboard or onchip graphics?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Spikey » Mon Aug 03, 2015 4:35 am

Not sure about the specs (only got it as word processor), I think it said something about a crappy Intel Bay Trail with integrated Intel HD Graphics card. Was surprised that GK3 did anything at all.
User avatar
Spikey
Sierra Obsessed
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:47 pm

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Collector » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:58 am

I suspect that your graphics is the reason. The Intel onboard/onchip graphics adapter is... infamous. Though I cannot rule out Win8 as a factor.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Tawmis » Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:59 pm

I just got Windows 8 recently on a new laptop; and I have GK3 for GoG so I can do some testing if needed?
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 8794
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Collector » Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:12 pm

Try the installer and see if you get any of the same problems.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Spikey » Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:07 am

Well, I guess I'll try upgrading to Windows 10 one of these days anyway.
User avatar
Spikey
Sierra Obsessed
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:47 pm

Re: GK3 on Windows 8 - wants disc I don't have

Postby Tawmis » Wed Aug 05, 2015 12:14 am

Katran wrote:So I updated my system to Windows 8.1. Then I re-downloaded and installed GK3 from GOG. Now it's asking me to insert the Disc 1 every time I click on "Play". It's never asked me for the disc before. What's up with that?


I can verify I have the same exact issue with GoG + Windows 8.1.

I copied those same files to my Windows 7 machine, and it launches fine.

So it's something with how Windows 8.1 is trying to handle GoG's installer.
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 8794
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Tawmis » Wed Aug 05, 2015 12:20 am

A quick search finds the possible solution. I am banking since the poster and I both have a machine without a CDROM, this is exactly what the issue is.

http://www.gog.com/forum/gabriel_knight ... cd1/post11
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 8794
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK3 on Windows 8

Postby Tawmis » Wed Aug 05, 2015 12:24 am

Verified that's the fix. Plugged in my cheap USB CDROM drive and gave it a moment to register. Launched the GK from GOG and it works perfect now.
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
 
Posts: 8794
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: GK3 on Windows 8 - Prompts to insert CD1 *FIXED*

Postby Collector » Wed Aug 05, 2015 1:11 am

You can also just install Daemon Tools.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10375
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

PreviousNext

Return to The Gabriel Knight Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests