Found a issue with the installer

Is the game being a ROYAL pain? Need a hint? Got a problem? This is the place to discuss King's Quest!

Found a issue with the installer

Postby JohnnyPhantom » Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:08 pm

Hey Everyone,
it's been a while. I just got my PC up and running again, it's kinda been sitting neglected as I was too busy to sit and play with it. I'm back now, upgraded it, and installing those great sierra games I love. I got to the point where I'm installing my Kings Quest Sierra Collection, and I get to the part about the girl in the tower music, and I get this prompt attached.

So not sure what I chose when I clicked the first box, but knowing Collector, this will be fixed lickity split and work amazingly once more! ^-^
Attachments
2015-08-13 11.25.08.jpg
Larry Laffer: So... uh, did I ever tell you I know Al Lowe personally?
Drew Baringmore: Who? Oh, I remember him! He came through here last November. Unimpressive.
Larry Laffer: Yeah, maybe.
Drew Baringmore: Not him, Larry. You!
User avatar
JohnnyPhantom
Lost In Daventry
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: Warwick, RI
Location: United States
Gender: Male

Re: Found a issue with the installer

Postby Collector » Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:23 pm

Redownload it now.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10695
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: Found a issue with the installer

Postby lukeman3000 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:33 pm

Interestingly, I came here to post the same thing. I just downloaded the installer today and got the same thing. Which buttons correspond to which quality?

Image

Edit: Looks like OP may have been using the single-game installer whereas I was using the collection installer? Will try the single-game version.

Edit #2: Couldn't get the single-game installer to work. Long ago I made an image of my KQ6 disc and today tried mounting it for the installer. It got up to the point where it tried to extract the redbook audio then it seemed to hang up during that process (the green progress bar didn't advance for over 5 minutes).

If I use the KQ collection installer, does that version of KQ6 come with the redbook audio? If so, which of those four buttons should I press for FLAC quality?
lukeman3000
Lost In Daventry
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:03 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Found a issue with the installer

Postby Collector » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:54 am

Fixed. Redownload the patcher.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10695
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: Found a issue with the installer

Postby lukeman3000 » Wed Jan 04, 2017 1:08 am

Great, thanks.

Additionally, the Steam and version includes the AGI version of KQ1 and both versions of SQ1 as well -- it would be nice if your collection installer was updated to reflect this as I do not otherwise have the original KQ1 AGI media...
lukeman3000
Lost In Daventry
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:03 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Found a issue with the installer

Postby Collector » Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:55 pm

The patches include the ability to add the AGI versions. Just copy the contents of the AGI version to the same folder as the patcher before you run it.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10695
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland


Return to The King's Quest Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest