EarthSiege II Music

Before there was Pacific Rim, there was Metaltech! Enter the Earthseige! Enter the Battledome! Enter this section of the forum for any comments, questions or problems with any of the Metaltech games!
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

EarthSiege II Music

Post by Collector » Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:09 am

I have and experimental build of an installer for EarthSiege II that will rip the CD audio tracks to the installed directory for in game music without the CD. Anyone with the game, please give it a try and let me know how it works for you.
Attachments
Earthsiege2Setup.exe
(2.58 MiB) Downloaded 199 times
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
BBP
Village Elder
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:07 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by BBP » Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:42 am

Just before the installer started recording the MP3s, I had the following message popup, quote verbatim:
_inmm.dll 2.38 Setup
Winamp not found. Winamp is required to play the digital audio music tracks. Please install Winamp and reinstall

After that it did record them, and now I have MP3 files called track02 to track06 in the Earthsiege2 folder. Currently I'm listening to track02 and track03 works as well.
Would you like to know how they work ingame as well?

Oh wait: I have used the Sierra Originals version on a Win7 32-bit.
Latest script: SQ3!! Check the Script Party topic in the Bard's Forum!
Skip to new scripts

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Collector » Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:36 pm

I will have a note about the need for Winamp when I add it to the installer page. But I need it to be tested before I add it. The Winamp requirement is a limitation of _inmm. So the music played during game play without the CD?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
BBP
Village Elder
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:07 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by BBP » Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:52 pm

The music did play when I had started a new game, but when I tried to watch the demo, and when I tried to practice a mission, I got chucked out of the game.
Latest script: SQ3!! Check the Script Party topic in the Bard's Forum!
Skip to new scripts

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Collector » Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:37 pm

What happens if you press Alt+Enter to make it a Window?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
BBP
Village Elder
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:07 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by BBP » Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:11 am

It didn't do anything at first. I then accidentally hit alt-Tab, suddenly saw my desktop background super enlarged, pressed alt+tab again and got screwy colours. Then I pressed alt + enter and actually got a smaller window.
I started up a new game and got chucked out.

Started it up again, it started in windowed mode.
New game, entered name, clicked through briefing and got into that menu. Started a new mission, got the mission menu. Clicked "Rock and Roll" and got chucked out.
Latest script: SQ3!! Check the Script Party topic in the Bard's Forum!
Skip to new scripts

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Collector » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:01 am

Sounds like the patch didn't take. Can you look in the registry for

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\InstalledSDB

and see if you see a key named "{c427c255-bfb3-4fa4-800d-5700670592f8}.sdb"?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Rudy » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:29 am

Well well... this is interesting. Error message during installation: "Winamp not found. Winamp is required to play the digital audio music tracks. Please install Winamp and reinstall".

Could this be the reason why it doesn't play any redbook audio tracks, except when I run games under DOSBox? Where do I find Winamp? I use Win XP.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Collector » Mon Jun 17, 2013 12:14 pm

No, it is just that the utility this uses to play the ripped tracks in lieu of the CDA tracks, _inmm, uses Winamp to play the tracks. Winamp by Nullsoft is about the most famous of the 3rd party media players. They are also the group that makes NSIS, the scripting system that I use for the installers.

http://www.winamp.com/media-player/en
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Rudy » Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:16 pm

Ah, so you're trying to override the music issue (whichever it is) by using a 3rd party player in the installer.

Re-installed it. Intro worked up until the menu. Then I pressed "instant action" and it gave the error that it could not find track02.mp3. The level played but without music AND without SFX.
By the way, I have Earthsiege 2 from the "2 GOOD 2 BE TRUE" compilation, which is a UK edition, if that makes a difference.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Rudy » Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:25 pm

Some more info: I Checked the content of the Earthsiege2 folder and found the following:

_inmm (text document)
S 06/17 19:12:32.609 ERROR C:\Dynamix\EarthSiege 2\track02.mp3 not found.
S 06/17 19:12:53.781 ERROR C:\Dynamix\EarthSiege 2\track02.mp3 not found.
S 06/17 19:12:54.953 WARN Track 2 isn't specified in _inmm.ini.
S 06/17 19:13:05.750 ERROR C:\Dynamix\EarthSiege 2\track02.mp3 not found.
S 06/17 19:13:07.656 WARN Track 2 isn't specified in _inmm.ini.
_inmm (config)
C:\Dynamix\EarthSiege 2\track02.mp3
C:\Dynamix\EarthSiege 2\track03.mp3
C:\Dynamix\EarthSiege 2\track04.mp3
C:\Dynamix\EarthSiege 2\track05.mp3
C:\Dynamix\EarthSiege 2\track06.mp3
I effectively don't see the track files in the Earthsiege 2 folder.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Collector » Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:35 pm

Perhasp you copy does not include the CDA tracks? Check it with something like Audiograbber. If they are not there, I'll need to add some sort of version detection to skip the ripping/audio patching.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Rudy » Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:06 pm

They're there, 6 tracks even (track01 is data track and then track 02 to track07 are the songs).
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by Rudy » Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:17 pm

Uploading them on the Sierra Chest while I'm at it. Upload should be complete in about 15 minutes.

http://www.sierrachest.com/index.php?a= ... =m&gconf=1
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
BBP
Village Elder
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:07 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: EarthSiege II Music

Post by BBP » Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:46 pm

Collector wrote:Sounds like the patch didn't take. Can you look in the registry for

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\InstalledSDB

and see if you see a key named "{c427c255-bfb3-4fa4-800d-5700670592f8}.sdb"?
Using Windows search I found something by that name in C:\Windows\AppPatch\Custom.
Latest script: SQ3!! Check the Script Party topic in the Bard's Forum!
Skip to new scripts

Post Reply