Earthsiege 2 - Freeze on main menu

Before there was Pacific Rim, there was Metaltech! Enter the Earthseige! Enter the Battledome! Enter this section of the forum for any comments, questions or problems with any of the Metaltech games!
Post Reply
Morbo
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:15 am
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Not Specified

Earthsiege 2 - Freeze on main menu

Post by Morbo » Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:21 am

I'm posting this here in addition to the Vogon forums in case it gets noticed earlier. I've been trying to get ES2 running. It will go through the intro with slight stuttering then almost totally freeze up at the main menu, sometimes even locking my computer up. VSHELL.exe, which as I understand it handles the menus, uses up the entire CPU core or both cores if allowed to do so. I don't want to be reduced to watching youtube let's plays of this if they even exist.

Here's my diagnostic_log if it helps

Code: Select all

Any issues with this installer can be reported on the Sierra Help
Pages Forum:

       http://sierrahelp.com/forums/


If requested, please include the following information:


EarthSiege II 

diagnostic information:

======================== System Info ========================

Windows 7 Ultimate (6.1.7600.2) 32-Bit, English
Service Pack      : None
Account type      : Administrator
UAC status        : Off

CPU               : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E8500  @ 3.16GHz, ~3176 Mhz
Memory            : 2048MB RAM
Graphics Adapter  : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti w/ 256MB of memory.
Screen Resolution : 1440 x 900, 32 bit color
DirectX Version   : DirectX 9.0c, DirectX 11
CD-ROM Drive(s)   : D:\ ; F:\


========================= Game Info =========================

Game                 :  EarthSiege II
Game Version         :  1.11
Game Path            :  C:\Earth2 
Installer Version    :  1.5.0.0
NSIS Version         :  v2.46
Start Menu Directory :  Dynamix\EarthSiege II
UninstallString      :  C:\Earth2\uninst.exe

Compatibility Mode:

   ES.EXE: WIN2000
   DBSIM.EXE: Not set
   VSHELL.EXE: WINXPSP3 256COLOR RUNASADMIN


================== Game Configuration File ==================

DATA\DRIVE.CFG

C:\Earth2
C:\Earth2


================ Secondary Configuration File ===============

DATA\KEYJOY.CFG

[Keyjoy]

Tilt = Default
;; Default: cursorUp (keypad 8) tilts turret up
;; Reverse: cursorUp (keypad 8) tilts turret down

Backturn = Default
;; Default: cursorDownRight (keypad 3) backs up and turns to left
;; Reverse: cursorDownRight (keypad 3) backs up and turns to right

Missile = Default
;; Default: cursorUp (keypad 8) steers missile up
;; Reverse: cursorUp (keypad 8) steers missile down

Rudder = Default
;; Default: left pedal forward turns right
;; Reverse: left pedal forward turns left


====================== Game Files List ======================

PREFS.CFG
BWCC32.DLL
CW3220.DLL
SOS9503.DLL
SOSLIBS3.DLL
DBSIM.EXE
DiagnosticTool.exe
EarthSiege 2.exe
ES.EXE
uninst.exe
VSHELL.EXE
EarthSiege2HR.ico
LANGUAGE.INF
SIERRA.INF
SOSLIB.INI
EarthSiege II.lnk
ES2_FLCS.M50
ES2_TQS.M50
ES2_WCS.MDF
GAMEDAT.SHP
ESREADME.TXT
Installer License.txt
New Installer README.txt
VERSION.TXT
HMIDRV.WIN
HMIMDRV.WIN
AVI\ALPH_TH.AVI
AVI\ALPHA.AVI
AVI\AS1.AVI
AVI\AS2.AVI
AVI\AS3.AVI
AVI\AS4.AVI
AVI\AS5.AVI
AVI\AS6.AVI
AVI\AS7.AVI
AVI\BRAV_TH.AVI
AVI\BRAVO.AVI
AVI\C1.AVI
AVI\C2.AVI
AVI\C3.AVI
AVI\C4.AVI
AVI\C5.AVI
AVI\CO1.AVI
AVI\CO2.AVI
AVI\CO3.AVI
AVI\CO4.AVI
AVI\CREDITS.AVI
AVI\DEATH.AVI
AVI\DELT_TH.AVI
AVI\DELTA.AVI
AVI\DROPSHIP.AVI
AVI\END1A.AVI
AVI\ES1.AVI
AVI\ES2.AVI
AVI\ES2CREDC.AVI
AVI\ES2DROP3.AVI
AVI\ES3.AVI
AVI\ES4.AVI
AVI\ESTAB2.AVI
AVI\EX1.AVI
AVI\EX2.AVI
AVI\EX3.AVI
AVI\EX4.AVI
AVI\FL1.AVI
AVI\FL2.AVI
AVI\FL3.AVI
AVI\FL4.AVI
AVI\GD1.AVI
AVI\GD2.AVI
AVI\GD3.AVI
AVI\GD4.AVI
AVI\HC1.AVI
AVI\HC2.AVI
AVI\HC3.AVI
AVI\HC4.AVI
AVI\INTR_PT1.AVI
AVI\INTR_PT2.AVI
AVI\LUNA.AVI
AVI\OMIC_TH.AVI
AVI\OMICRON.AVI
AVI\PT1.AVI
AVI\PT2.AVI
AVI\PT3.AVI
AVI\PT4.AVI
AVI\PT5.AVI
AVI\PT6.AVI
AVI\RC1.AVI
AVI\RC2.AVI
AVI\RC3.AVI
AVI\RC4.AVI
AVI\RC5.AVI
AVI\RD1.AVI
AVI\RD2.AVI
AVI\RD3.AVI
AVI\RD4.AVI
AVI\RF1.AVI
AVI\RF2.AVI
AVI\RF3.AVI
AVI\RF4.AVI
AVI\RS1.AVI
AVI\RS2.AVI
AVI\RS3.AVI
AVI\RS4.AVI
AVI\SC1.AVI
AVI\SC2.AVI
AVI\SC3.AVI
AVI\SC4.AVI
AVI\SC5.AVI
AVI\SK1.AVI
AVI\SK2.AVI
AVI\SK3.AVI
AVI\SK4.AVI
AVI\SP1.AVI
AVI\SV1.AVI
AVI\SV2.AVI
AVI\SV3.AVI
AVI\SV4.AVI
AVI\TRANSM3.AVI
AVI\VICTORY.AVI
DATA\DRIVE.CFG
DATA\EXIT.CFG
DATA\KEYJOY.CFG
DATA\LANGUAGE.CFG
DATA\SOUND.CFG
DATA\MAT0.DAT
DATA\MFORMS.DAT
DATA\MAPLABEL.STR
DATA\MISSION.STR
ENGLISH\ES2GUIDE.HLP
ENGLISH\LANGUAGE.INF
ENGLISH\README.WRI
ENGLISH\BILLBRD\LOAD1.BMP
SAV\GAMEFILE.STR
SIMVOICE\TM1_0001.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0003.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0006.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0007.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0008.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0010.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0012.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0013.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0014.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0015.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0017.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0019.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0020.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0022.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0025.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM1_0026.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0001.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0003.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0004.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0006.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0007.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0011.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0012.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0014.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0015.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0017.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0019.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0020.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0021.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0022.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0023.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0024.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0025.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0026.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0027.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM2_0029.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0001.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0003.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0004.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0005.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0007.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0009.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0011.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0012.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0014.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0016.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0017.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0019.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0021.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0022.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0024.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0025.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0026.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0027.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM3_0029.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0001.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0003.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0005.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0007.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0009.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0012.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0015.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0017.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0018.WAV
SIMVOICE\TM4_0021.WAV
TAPES\DEMOLIST.STR
TAPES\DEMO1.TAP
TAPES\DEMO2.TAP
TAPES\DEMO3.TAP
VOL\LANG0.VOL
VOL\SHELL0.VOL
VOL\SHELL1.VOL
VOL\SHLSOUND.VOL
VOL\SIMALERT.VOL
VOL\SIMPATCH.VOL
VOL\SIMSOUND.VOL
VOL\SIMVOICE.VOL
VOL\SIMVOICF.VOL
VOL\SIMVOICG.VOL
VOL\SIMVOL0.VOL
VOL\ZONES.VOL

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Earthsiege 2 - Freeze on main menu

Post by Collector » Tue Aug 19, 2014 2:33 pm

I can see a number of missing files. I note that you version of the game is 1.11. The installer was written for version 1.0. This is probably the main reason for the missing files. You disc is probably laid out differently, so the installer is not finding a number of files.

Another thing that could be causing problems is that the installer should rip and compress the digital audio tracks on the CD. It is possible that the CDA tracks were dropped for your version, but the installed EXE has been modified to look for the these tracks as MP3s within the game's directory, so the EXE might not be compatible with your version. Check to see if there are CDA tracks on your disc.

I would have look through the installer script to be sure, but the missing configuration might be one that are written by the game to store preferences after you start playing. If you are unable to start a game, then these would not be created.

I could probably add support for your version, but I need to at least know the layout. Run the attached tool and point it to your CD. Attach the file list here and I will take a look. I can make no guarantees without a physical copy of the disc, but I can at least be sure that the installer can find all of the needed files on your disc.
Attachments
CDFileLister.exe
(49 KiB) Downloaded 159 times
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Morbo
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:15 am
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Earthsiege 2 - Freeze on main menu

Post by Morbo » Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:17 pm

When I run that program, I get "Unhandled exception [...] Device is not ready", probably because I don't have a disk drive in my computer. I am using an ISO version for this reason. It'll let me "Ignore" but when I try to list the files on the virtual drive it does nothing. Would manually listing them help?
Also for reference, the menu music does play

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Earthsiege 2 - Freeze on main menu

Post by Collector » Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:13 pm

An ISO will not hold the CDA tracks. Not all music played is contained in the CDA tracks. So that is likely part of your problem. Try reading the actual disc on another machine that has a real CD/DVD drive.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Morbo
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:15 am
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Earthsiege 2 - Freeze on main menu

Post by Morbo » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:02 am

I really want to get this fixed. Out of curiosity, if it's because of the missing music why would it load the main menu and play its music instead of just straight up giving me an error message?
A couple of things you may find helpful, or interesting at the very least. The demo works absolutely fine with literally zero preparation other than extracting it, but that's likely because it doesn't have any menus to load. When I transplant the contents of the demo into a fresh install of the full game, it tries to load straight into the game as the demo does, runs the same mission and everything but it stutters like crazy and rather than playing music it just repeats a very short scratching sound constantly. You're probably right about there being missing files.

I'll see if there's anything else I can do. Unfortunately I don't have a disk drive available, I blame Steam for this.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11339
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Earthsiege 2 - Freeze on main menu

Post by Collector » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:17 am

I can't help you without the actual disc. If you can get a legitimate copy you can try to create a BIN/CUE pair on another machine and mount the CUE to run the installer.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Post Reply