No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Caught in your own cuffs? Need a hint? Or just want to talk about Police Quest - this is the place to do it!
Post Reply
dudalb
Noob
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:46 pm
Gender: Not Specified

No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by dudalb » Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:51 pm

I installed all Four Police Quest Games using the Most Wanted Installer I downloaded here and they all run fine except for Pq1\VGA: it has no sound. WHen I start it using the link the installer installed, no Sound fo PQ1VGa.
Yet when I pasted the folder into my usual DOSBox game folder and started it using standard DOSBox text commands, it ran fine with sound.
I would like the convenience of using the link in the MWC like, so can someone tell me how I can get the sound to work using the MWC link?
It does seem to be a problem with the installer, not the game since sound works fine when I use the standard way of starting a game in DOSBox.

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 13446
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by Tawmis » Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:46 pm

There should be a diag program if you used a SHP installer. Run it and copy the text into a post.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by Collector » Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:46 pm

Run the Diagnostic tool for the game and attach the results here.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 13446
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by Tawmis » Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:01 pm

Collector wrote:Run the Diagnostic tool for the game and attach the results here.
Beat ya by a millisecond!
:lol:

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by Collector » Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:18 pm

I didn't even see your reply because I didn't reload the thread after posting.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

dudalb
Noob
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:46 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by dudalb » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:12 pm

Here is the text:Any issues with this installer can be reported on the Sierra Help Pages Forum
http://sierrahelp.com/forums/

If requested, please include the following information:


Police Quest Collection: The 4 Most Wanted diagnostic information:


=================================== System Info ===================================

Windows XP (5.1.2600.2) 32-Bit, English
Service Pack : 3
Account type : Administrator

CPU : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz, ~3000 Mhz
Memory : 2048MB RAM
Graphics Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS w/ 256MB of memory.
Screen Resolution : 1152 x 864, 32 bit color
DirectX Version : DirectX 9.0c
CD-ROM Drive(s) : D:\


==================================== Game Info ====================================

Game = Police Quest 1 (VGA)
Game Version = 2.000
Game Path = F:\Sierra\Police Quest Collection- The 4 Most Wanted\PQ1VGA
Installer Version = 2.0
Collection Version = Version 2.0
Start Menu Directory = Sierra\Police Quest Collection- The 4 Most Wanted
UninstallString = F:\Sierra\Police Quest Collection- The 4 Most Wanted\uninst.exe


============================= Game Configuration File =============================

RESOURCE.CFG

videoDrv = VGA320.DRV
soundDrv = GENMIDI.DRV 220
audioDrv = AUDBLAST.DRV 220
joyDrv = NO
kbdDrv = IBMKBD.DRV
mouseDrv = STDMOUSE.DRV
memoryDrv = ARM.DRV
directory = .\
minHunk = 239k
language = 1
patchDir = .\;.\PATCHES


=================================== DOSBox Info ===================================

DOSBox Path = C:\Program Files\DOSBox\DOSBox.exe
DOSBox version 0.74

Your version of DOSBox is up to date.


=================================== dosbox.conf ===================================

[sdl]
output= overlay
fullresolution= 0x0
windowresolution= 800x600
fullscreen= false
autolock= false

[DOSBox]
machine= svga_s3
captures= C:\Documents and Settings\DudleyA\Local Settings\Application Data\DOSBox\capture

[render]
aspect= true
scaler= normal3x

[cpu]
core= normal
cycles= 10000

[autoexec]
cls
@ECHO OFF
mount c "F:\Sierra\Police Quest Collection- The 4 Most Wanted\PQ1VGA"
c:
cd \
SCIDHUV.EXE
exit


================================= Game Files List =================================

ADL.DRV
AUDBLAST.DRV
AUDDISNY.DRV
AUDNONE.DRV
AUDPRO.DRV
AUDPS1.DRV
CMS.DRV
Conf.exe
DiagnosticTool.exe
dosbox.conf
EGA640.DRV
GAMEDAT.SHP
GENMIDI.DRV
IBMKBD.DRV
IBMPS1.DRV
INTERP.ERR
INTERP.TXT
JOYSTICK.DRV
MESSAGE.MAP
MT32.DRV
PATCHES
Police Quest 1- In Pursuit of the Death Angel (VGA).lnk
PQ1VGA.ICO
PQ1VGAHR.ico
README.TXT
RESOURCE.000
RESOURCE.CFG
RESOURCE.MAP
RESOURCE.MSG
SCIDHUV.EXE
STD.DRV
VERSION
VGA320.DRV
VGA320BW.DRV

As I stated, what is curious is that the sound works fine when I start the game using the standard DOSBox Command text method.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by Collector » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:33 pm

Everything is there and the configs are right. Post the contents of your dosbox.conf that you used where the music works.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

dudalb
Noob
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:46 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by dudalb » Thu Nov 25, 2010 7:19 pm

Here is my DOSBox Config file:

# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox 0.74. (Please use the latest version of DOSBox)
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines and are ignored by DOSBox.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
# fullscreen: Start DOSBox directly in fullscreen. (Press ALT-Enter to go back)
# fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen. It can reduce screen flickering, but it can also result in a slow DOSBox.
# fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
# Using your monitor's native resolution with aspect=true might give the best results.
# If you end up with small window on a large screen, try an output different from surface.
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
# (output=surface does not!)
# output: What video system to use for output.
# Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb, ddraw.
# autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen. (Press CTRL-F10 to unlock)
# sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if DOSBox has an error.
# priority: Priority levels for DOSBox. Second entry behind the comma is for when DOSBox is not focused/minimized.
# pause is only valid for the second entry.
# Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause.
# mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from. Resetmapper only works with the defaul value.
# usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
usescancodes=true

[DOSBox]
# language: Select another language file.
# machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
# Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe.
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
# memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
# This value is best left at its default to avoid problems with some games,
# though few games might require a higher value.
# There is generally no speed advantage when raising this value.

language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=16

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
# aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
# scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
# If 'forced' is appended, then the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
# Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
# core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
# Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple.
# cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
# Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch.
# cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond.
# Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags.
# Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
# 'auto' tries to guess what a game needs.
# It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
# 'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
# (Example: fixed 4000).
# 'max' will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle.
#
# Possible values: auto, fixed, max.
# cycleup: Amount of cycles to decrease/increase with keycombo.(CTRL-F11/CTRL-F12)
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=auto
cycleup=10
cycledown=20

[mixer]
# nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
# Possible values: 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=20

[midi]
# mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
# Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
# Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
# See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
# sbtype: Type of Soundblaster to emulate. gb is Gameblaster.
# Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, gb, none.
# sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
# irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
# dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
# Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
# oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
# Possible values: default, compat, fast.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
# Possible values: 44100, 49716, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=44100

[gus]
# gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
# gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
# gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
# gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
# there should be a MIDI directory that contains
# the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
# with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
# Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=true

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
# 2axis (supports two joysticks),
# 4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
# 4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
# fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
# none disables joystick emulation.
# auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
# (Remember to reset DOSBox's mapperfile if you saved it earlier)
# Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none.
# timed: enable timed intervals for axis. Experiment with this option, if your joystick drifts (away).
# autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
# swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
# buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=auto
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=false

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
# Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
# parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq (optional).
# for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
# (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
# for modem: listenport (optional).
# for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
# transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
# Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial2: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial3: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial4: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
# xms: Enable XMS support.
# ems: Enable EMS support.
# umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=auto

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by Collector » Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:24 pm

It looks like everything is set to defaults. What are the exact mounting commands you use to to manually start it.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

dudalb
Noob
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:46 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by dudalb » Fri Nov 26, 2010 5:09 pm

Collector wrote:It looks like everything is set to defaults. What are the exact mounting commands you use to to manually start it.
Mount c f:\oldgames, my standard folder for Dosgames, .(I pasted PQA-VGA from my Sierra folder to oldgames without making any changes).
I then switch Z in DOSBox to C, type in CD PQ1_VGA, then type SCIDHUV, and the game starts with full sound.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: No Sound In Police Quest 1 VGA

Post by Collector » Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:25 pm

That just doesn't make sense. Try deleting everything in the game's dosbox.conf except for the [autoexec] section.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Post Reply