PQ1 (AGI) fully upgraded in the Chest

Caught in your own cuffs? Need a hint? Or just want to talk about Police Quest - this is the place to do it!
Post Reply
User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

PQ1 (AGI) fully upgraded in the Chest

Post by Rudy » Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:50 am

One of the first games I worked on for the site, so it was missing a lot of stuff. screenshots added, music added, publications added, and all other pages upgraded a bit. So, now it's up-to-date :).

http://www.sierrachest.com/index.php?a= ... ld=s&pid=1
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: PQ1 (AGI) fully upgraded in the Chest

Post by Collector » Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:31 pm

Nice. The Flash player works out much better, but you probably turn off the autostart, which is usually frowned upon by most designers. I also see that you figured out the named anchor links on the installer page.

Out of curiosity, are you using DOSBox's built-in screen capture for your screen shots?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: PQ1 (AGI) fully upgraded in the Chest

Post by Rudy » Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:53 pm

I've been inserting the SierraHelp anchors for the other classic game pages for a while already. This page was done a long time ago and I had forgotten the DOSBox installer itself was still lurking in it, so i replaced it.

I've been thinking whether or not to auto-start the title song in the general description page (which is the page that always gets entered first when selecting a game in the site). I think it's pretty cool to hear the game music the moment you enter the game page. It's also the only section of the game page where the music auto-starts and the visitor can disable it if he wants. Perhaps I can insert an enable/disable auto-play option in the top banner or left section of the site, so it remembers it throughout the entire visit on the site. Just don't know how to program it...

And yes, I know screenshots can be captured in DOSBox, but those are smaller then, aren't they?
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: PQ1 (AGI) fully upgraded in the Chest

Post by Collector » Sat Mar 05, 2011 4:17 pm

Rudy wrote:And yes, I know screenshots can be captured in DOSBox, but those are smaller then, aren't they?
Yes, the built-in capture will ignore the render mode used during the capture, so 320x200 will be used. The reason that I asked was that the images have not had aspect correction applied. Remember the why of 320x200 aspect as opposed to 320x240. Monitors back then used a tall, rectangular pixel as opposed to the square pixels of modern monitors. this means that playing these on modern video hardware changes the aspect ratio from 4:3 to an artificial 16:10. In other words, it squishes the tall pixels down. This is exactly why DOSBox and ScummVM have the aspect correction setting. Also, aspect correction is no longer needed for the VESA and later games, which used a 640x480 resolution for a 4:3 ratio on the newer, squared pixeled monitors.

You can fix it by resampling the image after the fact, or do a screen capture of DOSBox using aspect correction through the Windows' Print Screen key and pasting it in a photo editor. If you hold the Alt key while pressing the Print Screen it will only capture the active window, not the entire desktop. You will still need to use a photo editor to crop out DOSBox's window frame.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Maxor127
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:57 am

Re: PQ1 (AGI) fully upgraded in the Chest

Post by Maxor127 » Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:03 pm

Awesome. Did not know that alt + print key trick. I've been cropping for years.

Post Reply