Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Feeling a SHIVER down your spine? Not sure which way to turn? You might want to come here and ask for clues and hints about SHIVERS and SHIVERS II.
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10673
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Tawmis » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:19 am

I am looking for my Shivers 2 CD right now. This is why I'd love no CD needed for these games! :)

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:21 am

Hi,

0x8876086c usually means your video card doesn't support a Direct3D feature the game is trying to use.

"Direct3D failed to display" is a presentation problem - most likely your video card does not support bilinear interpolation.

What kind of video card do you have?

Nick

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11083
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:22 am

It is an older card, an ATI 9800 All-In-Wonder AGP. I am going to put together a new PC this summer, but I am stuck with this one for the time being. This is my first time with an ATI card. I must say that I have not been very happy with it.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:22 am

Collector wrote:It is an older card, an ATI 9800 All-In-Wonder AGP. I am going to put together a new PC this summer, but I am stuck with this one for the time being. This is my first time with an ATI card. I must say that I have not been very happy with it.
Interesting.

My XP and Vista development machines both have ATI 9250 PCI cards in them... both work without issue.

The ATI cards do a better job of upscaling DirectDraw. nVidia was the reason I switched over to using Direct3D... DirectDraw upscaling on the nVidia cards was terrible :)

Do you have the latest drivers from ATI installed?

Go into the control panel for the ATI drivers and look for any performance configuration. The term "performance" means "disable features so the frame rate goes up" :roll:

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:23 am

BTW - there is a new 20080602 release on the website.

Nick

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11083
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:24 am

I did not see the 20080602 driver. I already had the one I saw listed, but I rolled back the driver and reinstalled it. This seems to have fixed what ever was going on with it. Is there anyway to restore the option to play it in a window again?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:25 am

Collector wrote:I did not see the 20080602 driver. I already had the one I saw listed, but I rolled back the driver and reinstalled it. This seems to have fixed what ever was going on with it. Is there anyway to restore the option to play it in a window again?
Sorry, 20080602 is a new Shivers 2 release on the squirtthecat website.

Is it playing ok now?

There is no option for windowed operation.

Nick

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11083
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:26 am

It seems to be OK, though I have not played very far.
jafa wrote:There is no option for windowed operation.
There is an option in the settings for windowed play in the original, but it does not work with the patched executable.

BTW, did you get a chance to get any more of a look at the KQ6 executable?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:27 am

Collector wrote:It seems to be OK, though I have not played very far.
Great to hear.
Collector wrote:There is an option in the settings for windowed play in the original, but it does not work with the patched executable.
There is the half-screen option for the cutscenes - this worked the last time I tried. I will look for the window option.
Collector wrote:BTW, did you get a chance to get any more of a look at the KQ6 executable?
Yep... working on it. I have extended my assembly regeneration tool to support NE file format (old 16-bit). There are still a few quirks.

Nick

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10673
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Tawmis » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:28 am

So I got it to work - however - the panning speed - even turned ALL the way down - is still turning WAY too fast. It takes effort to slowly turn.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11083
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:29 am

jafa wrote:
Collector wrote:BTW, did you get a chance to get any more of a look at the KQ6 executable?
Yep... working on it. I have extended my assembly regeneration tool to support NE file format (old 16-bit). There are still a few quirks.

Nick
It would be nice if it could be recompiled as 32bit and not have to use NTVDM and WOW, though I doubt it can be. This may be moot as Windows 7 may finally break backwards compatibility.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:29 am

I found the byte in the savegame file that sets the scroll/spin speed.

It will slow down further by changing this byte.

Still tracing through how the game does the timing. As far as I can tell the spin speed is not related to any windows timer.

Nick

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:30 am

Ok, it is a bit of a hack but you can now select a slower panning speed:
http://www.squirtthecat.com/sierra/shivers_2/index.html

Nick

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10673
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Tawmis » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:31 am

I will check this out when I get home then! :D

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:31 am

Hi,

Any idea what the "internet" feature in Shivers 2 is about?

Nick

Post Reply