Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Feeling a SHIVER down your spine? Not sure which way to turn? You might want to come here and ask for clues and hints about SHIVERS and SHIVERS II.
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10656
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Tawmis » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:32 am

I have no idea, actually. I am not even sure I had internet when I got Shivers 2. Very Happy Or if I did, it was probably dial up and unbearable. :D

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:32 am

I have started putting together a server to respond to the Shivers 2 "internet" button.

Shivers 2 connects to the server and sends a packet to identify the game and the version. The server responds by sending back a DNS name and port number to use for further communication. It can also respond with a requirement to download a new DLL.

The game then connects to the game server and gives a login window. I have figured out the packet format for login and for "create new account", but not how to respond yet.

The resources look interesting - looks like a chat room style interface.

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:33 am

Partially figured out the login server response... teaser screenshot...

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10656
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Tawmis » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:34 am

Amazing work... Way beyond me to ever do.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11080
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:35 am

Nice. I wonder if this could be tied into the ImagiNation Revival project. Two different eras, though.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:35 am

Hi guys,

I tracked down how Shiver 2 does the timing for panning. It has now been fixed properly.

Update:
http://www.squirtthecat.com/sierra/shivers_2/index.html

Nick

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10656
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Tawmis » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:35 am

Very nice. Definitely makes it far more playable. Will download and test it today when I get home.

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:36 am

Hi guys,

I am seeing a few glitches in the "dream" movie (file 1020.VMD).

If you have the CDs handy can you please check this file. It is in the movies directory on the first CD.

md5sum of this file on my system: 6b5267b90a5cc101d9822e44a5c5f8d5

If the md5sum is different can you please put the file somewhere I can download it.

Thanks,

Nick

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10656
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Tawmis » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:36 am

jafa wrote:Hi guys,

I am seeing a few glitches in the "dream" movie (file 1020.VMD).

If you have the CDs handy can you please check this file. It is in the movies directory on the first CD.

md5sum of this file on my system: 6b5267b90a5cc101d9822e44a5c5f8d5

If the md5sum is different can you please put the file somewhere I can download it.

Thanks,

Nick
How do we find the md5sum stuff?

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:37 am

Tawmis wrote:How do we find the md5sum stuff?
Try this utility...
http://www.pc-tools.net/win32/md5sums/

Nick

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11080
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:38 am

Or the one that I use that is a shell extension: HashTab. I'll take a look after I get back from work tonight.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:38 am

Hi guys,

Can you please take a quick look at the VERSION file on the first CD.

The game is looking for a file called "VERSION" but the CD has a file called "VERSION.txt".

The game tries over and over again to load this file (failing every time). This adds about 5-10 seconds to the load time.

Nick

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11080
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:39 am

That is odd. Sierra has always left an extension off of the version file. It has the TXT extension on my copy, too. I never noticed. Is it possible to get it to look for it with the TXT extension? Or possibly get it to look to the game's installed folder for it, where it could be copied without the extension?

By the way, the MD5 of 1020.VMD on my copy is 6B5267B90A5CC101D9822E44A5C5F8D5
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

jafa
Sierra Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: Shivers 2 for XP/Vista

Post by jafa » Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:40 am

Ok, you have to laugh...

Shivers takes a long time to load. It uses a small executable to shows a loading screen for the first 30 seconds while the game is loading. This is a simple timer based app - show the loading screen for 30 seconds and quit.

I modified the main Shivers executable to load "version.txt" when the game tries and fails to load "version".

The game now loads instantly :)

The problem... run the game, poke around for 20 seconds, then quit... the loading screen app is still there :)

Small oops by Sierra :D

Post Reply