Need help with QFG5 screen resolution.

Not finding any Glory in this whole Quest for Glory bit? Need a hint? Or just want to discuss Quest for Glory - this is the place to do it!
Post Reply
BDaught
Noob
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:33 pm

Need help with QFG5 screen resolution.

Post by BDaught » Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:47 pm

I can't for the life of me figure out how to get the screen resolution higher with this game. The game is only a tiny square maybe 800x600. My desktop resolution is 1280x800. There's just no way I could play in this tiny resolution. I'm in Windows 7 x64 and have applied all the appropriate patches. The game plays fine it's just really small. Please help! Thanks in advanced!

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11591
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Need help with QFG5 screen resolution.

Post by Collector » Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:40 pm

You probably need to check your monitor and or display driver settings to scale it to your monitor.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Scorciad
Noob
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 3:08 pm
Location: CANADA
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Need help with QFG5 screen resolution.

Post by Scorciad » Sun Dec 25, 2011 6:34 pm

I have a problem with the screen as well... not the same problem, and it's more of aftermath. I play the game and it's fine, but when I exit, there is a black screen and a bad resolution warning. From what I've observed, it only happens when I play for a long time, but who wants to play 10 minutes, stop, then another 10?
Anyways, I believe that if I played in a maximized screen instead of full screen, then maybe this problem wouldn't occur. However, I tried reinstalling the real CD with the real installer from this site, but it does not give the option to configure certain things, like screen size, mouse lock, etc. Do you know what I can do? Any help would be very much appreciated.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11591
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Need help with QFG5 screen resolution.

Post by Collector » Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:37 pm

I am unaware of anyway to change the resolution that the game uses. There is no configuration file that holds this information nor any Registry entry. You could try setting compatibility mode to 640x480, which is what the game uses. This should force the PC to revert to your Desktop's resolution on exit.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

BDaught
Noob
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Need help with QFG5 screen resolution.

Post by BDaught » Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:55 pm

Collector wrote:I am unaware of anyway to change the resolution that the game uses. There is no configuration file that holds this information nor any Registry entry. You could try setting compatibility mode to 640x480, which is what the game uses. This should force the PC to revert to your Desktop's resolution on exit.
This was awhile ago and totally forgot I made this post. I got it figured out. It was my video settings on my laptop. I had it set for dual monitors I believed. Thanks for the reply though!

Scorciad
Noob
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 3:08 pm
Location: CANADA
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Need help with QFG5 screen resolution.

Post by Scorciad » Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:59 pm

No, I don't want to change the resolution. The resolution is fine, I would just like to change it from fullscreen to maximized screen, like an internet window.

Post Reply