Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Banging your head trying to solve the riddles in any of the many Doctor Brain series? Come here - and let us know - someone's bound to have the answer... right?
User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Rudy » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:39 am

ALT-ENTER or SHIFT-ENTER don't put it in a window. Also tried putting it on 640x480 in the compatibility settings, which also didn't work.

Is there a line I can add in the "Sierra" configuration file or something?
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Tawmis » Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:14 pm

Rudy wrote:ALT-ENTER or SHIFT-ENTER don't put it in a window. Also tried putting it on 640x480 in the compatibility settings, which also didn't work.

Is there a line I can add in the "Sierra" configuration file or something?
If you're doing it in DOSBox, ALT+ENTER should put it in full screen mode. Or is it in Full Screen mode and you're trying to get it to a WINDOW mode?

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Rudy » Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:20 pm

It's full screen mode, running it in XP. Tried to run it under Win3x under DOSBox, but that didn't work.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Tawmis » Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:00 pm

Weird. It runs in WINDOWED mode for me in DOSBox with just the default DOSBox settings.
Image2.png

EDIT: Until Collector or someone with more brains than me (and that could be a rock laying on the street, really) - the only thing I could possibly think that would prevent it from exited the full screen mode and going to WINDOWED mode, is if:

1. Somewhere in the DOSBox config file, it's set to go full screen.

Like the code in dosboxconfig:

Code: Select all

[sdl]
output= overlay
fullresolution= 0x0
windowresolution= 800x600
fullscreen= true
autolock= false
And make sure that:

2. Your XP native screen resolution is greater than the DOSBox resolution. Using the above example, if you Windows XP resolution is set to 800x600 - if you try to go to Windowed mode, it won't - because the screen resolution of XP matches what the Windowed resolution is set to.

Those are the only ideas off the top of my head.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:25 pm

If you want to try to mess with it, try DxWnd http://sourceforge.net/projects/dxwnd/
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Tawmis » Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:57 pm

EDIT: And I just now noticed the title is "TIME WARP" of Dr. Brain... I did Castle. I only have Castle and Island. So I have no way to test Time Warp. Sorry.

/crawls under a rock

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:09 pm

Yeah, Time Warp is a Win32 game, so no Win3x in DOSBox. Though it does not preclude a VM with 98 in it.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Tawmis » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:40 pm

This is what happens when I try to be helpful! :lol:

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:16 am

Hey, at least you try ;)
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Rudy » Sun Jan 26, 2014 5:28 am

Collector wrote:If you want to try to mess with it, try DxWnd http://sourceforge.net/projects/dxwnd/
Been messing around with it a bit. Problem is I don't know what most of these settings do. So far it still displays full screen, despite setting it to windowed mode and trying some of the other settings. Reason for wanting it in a window is to see if I can make screen caps and recordings. A press on the Prt Sc key and paste into Paint results in a 640*480 black frame.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:12 pm

I got it to run in a window, but had problems with either color or the cursor. Everything I did to fix either resulted in to going back to full screen. It might be possible, but would take more time than I am willing to spend on it now.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Rudy » Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:26 pm

Do you remember the settings that allowed it to go in windowed mode? Then I have the starting point - I'll play around with the other settings then and post when I get something that works properly.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11697
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Tawmis » Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:02 pm

This is one trick (that I have found) sometimes works.

Rather than do just PRINT SCREEN, do CONTROL + PRINT SCREEN at the same time. Let me know if that helps.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:07 pm

Just edit your path in this ini and you can pick up where I left off. I won't guaranty that you will get windowed mode given differences between our systems, but it did on mine.
Attachments
dxwnd.zip
(393 Bytes) Downloaded 313 times
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Rudy » Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:05 am

That didn't do the trick unfortunately. Probably the different system indeed.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

Post Reply