Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Banging your head trying to solve the riddles in any of the many Doctor Brain series? Come here - and let us know - someone's bound to have the answer... right?
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:31 pm

Of course you could setup a VM like VMware player with Windows 98 installed and run the VM windowed.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Rudy » Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:51 pm

Now trying it on Windows 7. Any way to get it windowed here? Again tried changing compatibility settings and the sierra configuration file. No luck so far...
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:04 pm

01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Rudy » Mon Dec 07, 2015 12:59 pm

That didn't do the trick unfortunately.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Mon Dec 07, 2015 3:47 pm

I have not explored this much. What are you using to record?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Rudy
Village Elder
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:54 am
Gender: M
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Rudy » Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:10 pm

If I manage to get it in Windowed mode, I'd probably use Screen Recorder Gold, although I expect more issues ahead (which may be related to not getting it in windowed mode) - it doesn't capture the game, as if it's not even running. Same goes with a regular PrtScr - when I paste it to Paint, all it shows is a black box of 800x600 pixels.
Sierra Chest creator, Sierra collector/curator.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Time Warp of Dr. Brain in windowed mode

Post by Collector » Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:01 pm

A lot of people recommend Fraps. Don't know if that it handles full screen or not. One other possibility would be to use an emulator that you could run in a Window. If you have Win7 Pro you could try XP Mode. Otherwise VMware Player?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Post Reply