new Lode Runner installer (question)

Nonspecific Sierra games or ones that do not have its own forum.
User avatar
Daventry
Sierra Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm
Gender: Male
Location: United States

new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Daventry » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:14 pm

Hi Collector, just wondering if the new Lode Runner installer will work for Lode Runner: The Mad Monk's Revenge, and on Windows 7 64 bit? Thanks for your help.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Collector » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:20 pm

It might. In fact I used the main EXE from Mad Monk's Revenge and a couple of other files to get Return to run on 64-bit machines. Return is 16-bit and Mad Monk is 32. Give it a try.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Daventry
Sierra Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm
Gender: Male
Location: United States

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Daventry » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:58 pm

Nah, just tried it, it doesn't work. :(

The installer doesn't recognize the disc and spits it out, asking me to insert the right one.

EDIT: any chance of a Mad Monk-specific installer in the near future?

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Collector » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:43 pm

Go grab it from the installer page.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Daventry
Sierra Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm
Gender: Male
Location: United States

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Daventry » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:04 pm

A Mad Monk installer? Not seeing it on the installer page..?

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:16 am

Perhaps you need to force a refresh of the page? Look under the "L"s for Lode Runner On-Line: The Mad Monks' Revenge.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Daventry
Sierra Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm
Gender: Male
Location: United States

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Daventry » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:33 am

Yep, I see it now on the listing page, but when I click to download I get a 404/page not found error.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:14 pm

Sorry about that. A matter of Linux case sensitivity. It has been corrected.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Daventry
Sierra Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm
Gender: Male
Location: United States

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Daventry » Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:42 pm

Thanks Collector. I got the file and installed, but when I try to run the game I get the following error message:

"Lode Runner hasn't been properly installed on this machine. Please run the installer and try again."

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:51 pm

Sorry, I didn't have time to any testing. I managed to track down the issue without the diagnostic log. It was not writing the correct INI section name in the SIERRA.INI file. I did not notice since I already had the correct entry on my system. uninstall first to remove incorrect entries and reinstall with the new version that I have already uploaded.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Daventry
Sierra Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm
Gender: Male
Location: United States

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Daventry » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:19 pm

Wow, thanks Collector, this works great! You know this already, but you're awesome!

Just one last question: do you know if there's anyway to extract the CD audio so that it's not needed in the drive for the music? I know CD audio is tricky to work with, so I'm guessing the answer's no... but wanted to ask just in case.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Collector » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:00 pm

That is an easier proposition with DOS games, where you can use imgmount to mount a bin/cue or in many cases, simply ripped and compressed OGG files. For Windows games you would have to modify the game's interpreter to look for the music on the hard drive. In most cases this would require greater abilities than I have. The only other way would be to create a bin/cue image of the CD and install a CD emulator like Daemon Tools. It would probably be possible create a batch file to mount the image and start the game. I have not tried anything like this via the NSIS installers because I have never found a free command line utility to make bin/cues that I could legally pack in an installer.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Daventry
Sierra Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm
Gender: Male
Location: United States

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Daventry » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:58 pm

Yeah, I figured it would be tough, and probably more effort than it's worth. I think the best option is to make a duplicate CD of the original and keep that around for easy access... just don't want to damage my original (one of my most memorable childhood birthday presents!) since it's out of print and all.

Thanks again for your help! :)

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11555
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Collector » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:44 am

Or as I suggested, make a bin/cue image of the disc and mount it with Daemon Tools. There are a number of different utilities that can make a bin/cue image. Some with trial or free versions. Get Daemon Tools here:

http://www.daemon-tools.cc/eng/products/dtLite
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Daventry
Sierra Fan
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm
Gender: Male
Location: United States

Re: new Lode Runner installer (question)

Post by Daventry » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:05 am

Yep, I'll keep that in mind, especially if I'm going to be traveling, but right now I'm just excited to be able to play it on my everyday computer!

Thanks again!

Post Reply