Problem running KQ8 moe with new installer

Is the game being a ROYAL pain? Need a hint? Got a problem? This is the place to discuss King's Quest!
Post Reply
killing74
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:09 am
Gender: Not Specified

Problem running KQ8 moe with new installer

Post by killing74 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:30 pm

Hi all like the topic say i've installed the game with the new installer on 2 different pc both with windows 7 64 bit and on both i can't start the game.
On the first machine when i launch the game nothing appear the process mask.exe start and die in about 5 seconds, on this machine i get a different error "masl.exe has stopped working"
i've controlled both the log and i think that all files has been extracted any suggestion???
Attachments
diagnostic_log.txt
(485.8 KiB) Downloaded 165 times

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11378
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Problem running KQ8 moe with new installer

Post by Collector » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:44 pm

You are missing the game's DLLs. There are six of them that should be in the game's base directory. Check your disc for scratches or other damages
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

killing74
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:09 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Problem running KQ8 moe with new installer

Post by killing74 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:51 pm

°_° the dlls? how weird, but my cd i'ts almost new without scratches or other things? and btw the installer shouldn't ask for missing files?

killing74
Noob
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:09 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Problem running KQ8 moe with new installer

Post by killing74 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:01 pm

my cd is perfect i've tryed to install the game normally without the new installer and he extract the dll, there's 7 of them i've placed in the root of the game, but nothing change

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11378
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Problem running KQ8 moe with new installer

Post by Collector » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:09 pm

Without more information, it is hard to say why the files were not extracted. It may be because of your security software or the Windows' UAC. The installer makes use of a small program to extract the InstallShield cab files, which was not allowed to run. It is not an issue that anyone has reported before.

Try running the installer as admin and install in just "C:\Sierra\Mask". If this still fails, run the diagnostic again.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Aroenai
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male

Re: Problem running KQ8 moe with new installer

Post by Aroenai » Wed Apr 10, 2013 9:23 pm

What language and version is your copy? (ex. English 1.0, German 1.0, French 1.0, Italian 1.3, Spanish 1.3, Brazilian Portuguese 1.3, English 1.3, etc.)

Post Reply