King's Quest VII (GoG) + DOSBox Recording.

Is the game being a ROYAL pain? Need a hint? Got a problem? This is the place to discuss King's Quest!
Post Reply
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10825
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

King's Quest VII (GoG) + DOSBox Recording.

Post by Tawmis » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:56 pm

For some reason, it records when the characters speak, but it's not recording the background music. Not a big deal, just not sure why it's happening.

And in the DOSBox config thing for GoG, there's no options for sound/music.

This is the RESOURCE.CFG file for KQVII:

videoDrv = VESA.DRV
soundDrv = GENMIDI.DRV
audioDrv = DACBLAST.DRV
joyDrv = NO
directory = .\
cmd = KQ7
mouseDrv = none
memoryDrv = none
minMemory = 1600k
brightness= 0
language = 1
minCPU = 386
CD = NO
DACSize = 32k

resMap=.\
resAUD=.\
resSFX=.\
patchDir=.\;.\PATCHES;.\AVI
robot=.\AVI

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11132
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: King's Quest VII (GoG) + DOSBox Recording.

Post by Collector » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:01 pm

Using the DOSBox built-in capture?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10825
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: King's Quest VII (GoG) + DOSBox Recording.

Post by Tawmis » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:46 pm

Collector wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:01 pm
Using the DOSBox built-in capture?
Yes, sorry - DOSBox capture.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11132
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: King's Quest VII (GoG) + DOSBox Recording.

Post by Collector » Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:36 am

If I get chance I'll look into it. If Qbix sees this before I can, he may be of some help.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10825
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: King's Quest VII (GoG) + DOSBox Recording.

Post by Tawmis » Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:44 am

Collector wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:36 am
If I get chance I'll look into it. If Qbix sees this before I can, he may be of some help.
Cool, it's not a very big deal - because, like I said, it's recording the voices - just not the background music. :)
So I can drop the KQVII background music myself, if I can find the music for it (which I probably have somewhere).

User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Friesland
Contact:

Re: King's Quest VII (GoG) + DOSBox Recording.

Post by Qbix » Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:58 am

midi sound isn't captured by internal capturing. (genmidi.drv)

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10825
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: King's Quest VII (GoG) + DOSBox Recording.

Post by Tawmis » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:17 am

Qbix wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:58 am
midi sound isn't captured by internal capturing. (genmidi.drv)
Awesome! Thanks for the quick answer, good sir!

Post Reply