Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

One of the many other Sierra games got you wondering something? Need hints? Got questions? Or just want to talk about them - post it here!
Post Reply
Ed-B
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:18 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Ed-B » Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:55 pm

Hi Everyone

To begin with, I have just joined and have an issue with A10 Tank Killer 2. I have searched the site but can't find a topic that addresses my issue so I'm starting a new one. Apologies in advance if this question has been answered elsewhere on the site.

The Sierra game that I’m having problems with is Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2. I'm trying to run it under the 64-Bit version of windows 10. I purchased the game over 20 years ago and absolutely loved it. It has been in my attic for the last 15 years and I found it again about 2 weeks ago. I tried to install it on my Windows 10 system but the installer gave me the error message..


Unsupported 16-Bit Application
1.png
I googled Sierra and found your brilliant web site. I read through the posts and tried the new installer A-10_2Setup. Everything went well and the installer finished properly. However, when I clicked on the shortcut, I got the following message:


Missing Shortcut Windows is searching for A-10 II.exe. To locate the file yourself, click browse.
2.png
2.png (6.84 KiB) Viewed 619 times
When I checked the installation director on my C: drive I found the following:

The C:\Dynamix contains a folder called A-10 II - Silent Thunder and this contains A10SHELL, GAMEDAT.SHP and uninst
3.png
4.png
So it looks like it actually hasn’t installed correctly and I can’t see what I am doing wrong.

Any help that anyone on the forum could give me would be really appreciated as I would love to play this simulator again.

Many thanks

Ed

EDIT: Added the screenshots that you had sent in the email. - Tawmis

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11106
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Collector » Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:08 pm

I made an update. Try downloading the installer again.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Ed-B
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:18 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Ed-B » Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:27 am

Hi Collector

To begin with, many many thanks for helping. I really enjoyed this game back in 1996 and to have it back up and running would be brilliant.

I have downloaded your new installer and installed A10-2 from scratch. This time it went right through and decompressed everything and I now have a full C:\Dynamix folder and the sub folders and it works !! Thank you so much. One small question.. It seems to only run in a window which I can't resize. I have tried click on the preferences / full screen option but this doesn't seem to make any difference. Any help or pointer would be gratefully received but, in the interim, many thanks again for sorting the installer out.

All the best

Ed

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11106
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Collector » Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:16 am

You might try experimenting with compatibility mode "Run in 640x 480 screen resolution"
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Ed-B
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:18 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Ed-B » Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:42 am

Hi Collector

Many thanks, everything is looking good now.

All the best

Ed

Ed-B
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:18 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Ed-B » Mon Oct 29, 2018 3:45 am

Hi Collector
I have found another problem which I currently can't resolve.
When I start A-10, I get the normal video screen of the A-10 flying through the mountains and then it freezes for about 5 minutes. The top bar displays 'Silent Thunder (Not Responding). After approximately 5 minutes, the freeze clears and I get the normal menu and after that, everything works perfectly although it still only runs in a small window in the middle of the screen and won't let me resize it. It's a long shot but do you have any ideas I could try to fix the freeze and / or window issue ?
All the best
Ed

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11106
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Collector » Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:26 am

did you try setting compatibility mode for both A10SHELL.EXE and A10SIM.EXE?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Ed-B
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:18 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Ed-B » Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:36 am

Hi Collector
I've tried to reply to your last post but for some reason it hasn't gone through. Fingers crossed this time.
I followed your recommendations and altered the compatibility settings to Windows 7 and it no longer freezes !! Brilliant !! I still can't get it to run in full screen mode though. I've altered the internal settings to 'full screen' and changed the properties under windows but it still stays in a small window in the middle of the screen !! Never mind, I'll continue to change the settings and, if I find out what is causing the issue, I'll send you and the forum a post. Once again Collector, I'm really grateful for all your help, I wouldn't have got the system to work at all without your installer and support. Many thanks, Ed

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 10740
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Tawmis » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:26 pm

Ed-B wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:36 am
Hi Collector
I've tried to reply to your last post but for some reason it hasn't gone through. Fingers crossed this time.
I followed your recommendations and altered the compatibility settings to Windows 7 and it no longer freezes !! Brilliant !! I still can't get it to run in full screen mode though. I've altered the internal settings to 'full screen' and changed the properties under windows but it still stays in a small window in the middle of the screen !! Never mind, I'll continue to change the settings and, if I find out what is causing the issue, I'll send you and the forum a post. Once again Collector, I'm really grateful for all your help, I wouldn't have got the system to work at all without your installer and support. Many thanks, Ed
Is it the DOS window that's small? Or the video within the DOS window? If it's the DOS window itself, press ALT+ENTER.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11106
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by Collector » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:59 pm

It is not a DOS game.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
notbobsmith
Sierra Veteran
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 4:02 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male

Re: Silent Thunder A-10 Tank Killer 2 under Windows 10

Post by notbobsmith » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:39 pm

I'm not at all familiar with the game but I thought I would put this out there: check the settings on you video card. If you are using an NVidia card, there should be an option for "Adjust desktop size and position" in the control panel. It should be set to "Aspect Ratio" and "Perform Scaling" should be set to "GPU". That should make the window fill the screen.

Post Reply