DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Talk about anything you want here
Post Reply
User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11795
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by Tawmis » Wed Oct 16, 2019 10:08 am

Was scrolling through the forum - when I was reminded of the DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect...

And decided to look up how to set it all up...

And came across this Youtube.




More importantly - the cool little installer that does it all for you: https://www.philscomputerlab.com/upload ... roject.zip

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11358
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by Collector » Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:19 pm

Not an installer, just a ZIP. It looks like nothing more than just the DBGL package with DOSBox ECE thrown in. For all I know, Ronald may have already added ECE to his DBGL package. If you do not need a frontend all you really need is DOSBox ECE and the MT-32 ROMs.

https://dosboxece.yesterplay.net/en/

I always chuckle when someone advertises a DOSBox that is "portable". You need nothing special to have it be portable. Just drop the conf file in the same directory or specify a path to a specific conf file. the most that will happen with the system is that there may be some MRU references added to the Registry, but that would happen with the so called portable versions of DOSBox, too.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11795
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by Tawmis » Thu Oct 17, 2019 8:49 am

Collector wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:19 pm
Not an installer, just a ZIP. It looks like nothing more than just the DBGL package with DOSBox ECE thrown in. For all I know, Ronald may have already added ECE to his DBGL package. If you do not need a frontend all you really need is DOSBox ECE and the MT-32 ROMs.

https://dosboxece.yesterplay.net/en/

I always chuckle when someone advertises a DOSBox that is "portable". You need nothing special to have it be portable. Just drop the conf file in the same directory or specify a path to a specific conf file. the most that will happen with the system is that there may be some MRU references added to the Registry, but that would happen with the so called portable versions of DOSBox, too.
The zip has an .EXE - when you launch it, it has a program that lets your "mount" and list all of your games. And then uses DOSBox ECE and Pixel Perfect.

I can show a screenshot when I get home. The Pixel Perfect thing is amazing. I wish I knew about it when I started my youtube channel thing for playing Sierra games (which I've been VERY lax on). Because then I could have had high resolution videos. :D

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11358
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by Collector » Thu Oct 17, 2019 9:58 am

I know what it does. ECE has the Pixel Perfect that needs nothing more to work. Here is TCB in ECE with nothing different settings than what I would have in stock DOSBox:

http://sierrahelp.com/forums/viewtopic. ... 520#p62520

You can see that all pixels are the same height (pixel perfect).

DBGL is just a DOSBox frontend written in Java. The EXE that you mention is just part of DBGL, it is not an installer. If one does not know how or cannot be bothered to learn how to mount a frontend can help, but is not needed by those that know how to mount.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11795
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by Tawmis » Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:04 am

So I discovered - unless I am doing something wrong -

Screenshots will resolve to the new resolution. However, video (like LSL1 EGA) is still 320x200 and doesn't actually resize.

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Village Elder
Posts: 2628
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:46 am
Gender: Male
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Re: DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by MusicallyInspired » Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:30 am

Screenshots usually don't either in vanilla DOSBox, so that's a bonus itself.
01010100 01110010 01110101 01110011 01110100 00100000 01010100 01001000 00110001

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11358
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by Collector » Sat Oct 19, 2019 10:44 am

Captures are another matter. For captures you can resize after capture. Since 1600px x 1200px is an even multiple of 320x200 and 320x240 it will give you even blocks for pixels after resizing. It is what I have been doing for the Wiki's screen captures.

Image

the DOSBox captures are, of course 320x200, but upscaled with no anti-aliasing. It gives nice crisp even pixels with the right aspect ratio.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Tawmis
Grand Poobah's Servant
Posts: 11795
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:19 am
Gender: Not Specified
Contact:

Re: DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by Tawmis » Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:07 pm

Would be cool if the videos saved in that native resolution too.

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Village Elder
Posts: 2628
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:46 am
Gender: Male
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Re: DOSBox ECE + Pixel Perfect.

Post by MusicallyInspired » Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:53 am

Yeah. I haven't found a good way to resize videos in nearest neighbor. Always puts a bilinear filtering on it. And then converting to x264 from the Zero Motion Block Video codec makes it even worse.
01010100 01110010 01110101 01110011 01110100 00100000 01010100 01001000 00110001

Post Reply